2017 Wells Fargo Championship pre-tournament notes and interviews
Dates: May 47, 2017
Where: Eagle Point Golf Club
Par/Yards: 72/7,396
2016 champion: James Hahn
Purse: $7,500,000/$1,350,000
FedExCup: 500 points to the winner
Format: 72-hole stroke play
Field: 156
Twitter: @WellsFargoGolf

Pre-tournament interview schedule
Tuesday, May 2, 2017

12 p.m.                                                Webb Simpson
3 p.m.                                                  James Hahn

Wednesday, May 3, 2017
After 6:45 a.m. pro-am (No. 1)           Dustin Johnson
After 6:45 a.m. pro-am (No. 10)         Adam Scott

Wells Fargo Championship one-year stop at Eagle Point
For the first time in its 14-year history, the Wells Fargo Championship will not be played at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, N.C. With the playing of the PGA Championship at Quail Hollow this August, the Wells Fargo Championship will make a one-year stop at the Tom Fazio-designed Eagle Point Golf Club in Wilmington, N.C.
Wilmington golf
  • Eagle Point ranked among the top 100 golf courses in the U.S. by Golf Digest in 2017 and fourth-best in N.C.
  • Webb Simpson and Carl Pettersson are both members at Eagle Point Golf Club, where Pettersson holds the course record of 62. William McGirt was born and raised in nearby Lumberton, N.C.
  • This year marks the 60th anniversary of the last professional golf event played in Wilmington – the Azalea Open. The winner of the 1957 Azalea Open? Arnold Palmer.
Wells Fargo Championship and the FedExCup
  • Dustin Johnson becomes the seventh player to play the Wells Fargo Championship while holding the FedExCup lead. The others: Adam Scott (2016), Jimmy Walker (2014), Hunter Mahan (2012), Bubba Watson (2011), Geoff Ogilvy (2009) and Vijay Singh (2007).
  • Five of the 10 winners of the Wells Fargo Championship have qualified for the TOUR Championship, the final event of the season that crowns the FedExCup champion: Rory McIlroy (2015), Rickie Fowler (2012), Sean O’Hair (2009), Anthony Kim (2008) and Tiger Woods (2007). After winning the 2007 Wells Fargo Championship, Woods went on to win the inaugural FedExCup.
  • The 2017 field consists of 12 players inside the top 30 in the FedExCup, including three of the top-10: Dustin Johnson (1), Jon Rahm (4) and Pat Perez (7).
  • Three FedExCup champions are in the field: Vijay Singh (2008), Jim Furyk (2010) and Bill Haas (2011).
A look at the field
  • 17 of top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking, including world No. 1 Dustin Johnson and Adam Scott (No. 10).
  • Nine of this season’s PGA TOUR winners: Pat Perez, Mackenzie Hughes, Hudson Swafford, Jon Rahm, Dustin Johnson, D.A. Points and Wesley Bryan, as well as Zurich Classic of New Orleans winners Jonas Blixt and Cameron Smith.
  • Six past champions: Vijay Singh (2005), Jim Furyk (2006), Lucas Glover (2011), Derek Ernst (2013), J.B. Holmes (2014) and James Hahn (2016).
  • 16 major championship winners including five-time major champion Phil Mickelson.
  • Three former PLAYERS Championship winners: Adam Scott (2004), Phil Mickelson (2007) and Davis Love III (1992, 2003).
A look back at the 2016 Wells Fargo Championship
  • The 2016 playoff between James Hahn and Roberto Castro marked the seventh playoff in tournament history.
  • Hahn began the final round trailing Rickie Fowler by two strokes. With a final-round 2-under 70, Hahn met Castro in sudden death where he won with a par on the first extra hole.
  • The win was the second for Hahn. He previously won the 2015 Genesis Open, also via playoff.
Select player notes
Dustin Johnson
  • FedExCup leader and World. No. 1 Dustin Johnson will return to competition following an injury which forced him to withdraw from the Masters.
  • The 15-time PGA TOUR winner has won his last three starts on TOUR (Genesis Open, World Golf Championships-Mexico Championship, WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play) and is looking to become the first player since Tiger Woods to win four straight starts. Woods won five straight starting with the 2007 BMW Championship and ending with the 2008 Arnold Palmer Invitational.
  • Johnson’s tournament history at the Wells Fargo Championship: 2008 (MC), 2010 (T29) and 2011 (MC).
Adam Scott
  • Adam Scott is making his eighth start of the season, and is coming off a T9 at the Masters, his second top-10 of the season (CIMB Classic – T10).
  • Prior to three straight missed cuts (2009, 2010, 2015), Scott finished T17 in 2016. This marks his ninth start where he has two top-10s: 2006 (3rd) and 2008 (T8).
Phil Mickelson
  • Phil Mickelson has never missed a cut in 13 starts at the Wells Fargo Championship. He holds the Wells Fargo Championship record for the most top-10 finishes with nine. Along with his solo-second in 2010, he finished T5 in 2004, T7 in 2005, T3 in 2007, T5 in 2009, T9 in 2011, 3rd in 2013, T4 in 2015 and T4 in 2016.
  • PGA TOUR events in which Mickelson has competed more than 10 times without ever winning: U.S. Open (26), the BMW Championship (19), the Memorial (16), THE NORTHERN TRUST (15), Shriners Hospitals for Children Open (12), WGC-Dell Match Play (13) and the Wells Fargo Championship (13).
  • Mickelson made his 19th start on the PGA TOUR in the state of North Carolina in 2016, where he remains in search of his first win. In addition to 13 starts at Quail Hollow, he played the Wyndham Championship at Forest Oaks CC in Greensboro in 1993 (T50), 1997 (T9) and 1998 (T6). In the U.S. Open at Pinehurst, he finished runner-up in 1999, T33 in 2005 and T28 in 2014.
Webb Simpson
  • Four-time PGA TOUR winner and major champion Webb Simpson will make his ninth start in the Wells Fargo Championship where he has two top-fives: 2012 (4th) and 2015 (T2).
  • Simpson, who is currently 36th in the FedExCup, is making his 15th start of the season where his best finish is a playoff loss at the Waste Management Phoenix Open. He is coming off a T11 at the RBC Heritage where a final-round 74 left him outside the top 10 after rounds of 66-68-68.
Jon Rahm
  • First-year member Jon Rahm, 22, will make his tournament debut.
  • At No. 4 in the FedExCup, Rahm won his maiden PGA TOUR victory at the 2017 Farmers Insurance Open. He then went on to finish in the top-five in three of his next four events, including a runner-up at the World Golf Championship-Dell Technologies Championship where he lost to Dustin Johnson in the final.
Wells Fargo Championship tournament records
  • The 54-hole leader has won five of 14 Wells Fargo Championships (David Toms-2003, Jim Furyk-2006, Anthony Kim-2008, J.B. Holmes-2014 and Rory McIlroy-2015).
  • J.J. Henry and Rory Sabbatini have competed in all 14 Wells Fargo Championships.
  • Vijay Singh owns the largest come-from-behind victory. He came from six strokes back when he defeated Sergio Garcia and Jim Furyk in a playoff in 2005.
  • Joey Sindelar (2004) is the oldest champion, while Rory McIlroy (2010) is the youngest (20).
  • Tiger Woods’ 2007 victory remains his only TOUR win in the state of North Carolina.
  • Rory McIlroy is the only multiple winner (2010 and 2015).