The University of Victoria Vikes women’s golf team had to wait until the final moments before finding out they have earned an at-large qualification spot to the 2017 NAIA women’s golf national championship hosted May 23-26 in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. One automatic berth from the A.I.I. regional championship was awarded to the UBC Thunderbirds and while the Vikes finished runners up they had to wait until all of the at-large berths were announced. Vikes golfers Laura Ferreira and Hannah Diamond, both named to the All-A.I.I. team will lead the Vikes at the 23rd Annual national championship at PGA National golf course.

The 156-player field consists of 18 automatic qualifying teams, which won their respective conference, independent or unaffiliated group tournament, 12 at-large berths and six individual qualifiers.
At-large teams were determined using the final regular-season Coaches’ Top 25 Poll, announced earlier today. Click here to view the Top 25 Poll.

After winning back-to-back titles and its third overall championship last year, Keiser highlights the field with three returning first team All-Americans Elsa Westin, Rebecka Holmstrom and Caroline Retabi. Holmstrom ranks in the top 10 in multiple statistical categories this season including – average score (75.81), par-three scoring (3.18) and par-five scoring (5.05).

William Woods (Mo.) and SCAD Savannah (Ga.), the 2016 national co-runners-up, are back in the field after the Owls earned their 14th-straight American Midwest Conference title and SCAD Savannah claimed the No. 1 at-large bid.

The competition includes every team that finished in the top 10 at last year’s championships: Keiser (Fla.) (No. 1), SCAD Savannah (No. 2), William Woods (No. 2), SCAD Atlanta (Ga.) (No. 4), Cumberlands (Ky.) (No. 4), Texas Wesleyan (No. 4), Oklahoma City (No. 7), Bellevue (Neb.) (No. 8), USC Beaufort (S.C.) (No. 8) and Dalton State (Ga.) (No. 10).

In addition to Keiser’s three national titles, two other qualifying teams have claimed at least one red banner, including Oklahoma City’s seven championships and British Columbia with four titles.

The six individual qualifiers include six automatic selections that won their conference tournament. To receive an individual automatic berth, a player must win her respective conference tournament or be an All-Tournament Team honoree from the previous year’s national championships that did not qualify otherwise.

2017 Women’s Golf National Championships Team Qualifiers (listed alphabetically)

School Qualification
Bellevue (Neb.) North Star Athletic Association Tournament Champion
Briar Cliff (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
British Columbia Association of Independents Tournament Champion
Campbellsville (Ky.) At-Large No. 4
Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Cumberlands (Ky.) Mid-South Conference Tournament Champion
Cumberland (Tenn.) At-Large No. 11
Dalton State (Ga.) Southern States Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) Unaffiliated Group – (California Pacific/ Golden State) Tournament Champion
Faulkner (Ala.) At-Large No. 9
Indiana Tech Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Keiser (Fla.) The Sun Conference Tournament Champion
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) Frontier Conference Tournament Champion
Midway (Ky.) River States Conference Tournament Champion
Milligan (Tenn.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Northwestern Ohio At-Large No. 10
Oklahoma City Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Oklahoma Wesleyan Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Oregon Tech Cascade Collegiate Conference Tournament Champion
SCAD Atlanta (Ga.) At-Large No. 7
SCAD Savannah (Ga.) At-Large No. 1
Southeastern (Fla.) At-Large No. 6
Taylor (Ind.) Crossroads League Tournament Champion
Texas Wesleyan At-Large No. 3
Thomas (Ga.) At-Large No. 8
USC Beaufort (S.C.) At-Large No. 2
Victoria (B.C.) At-Large No. 12
William Carey (Miss.) At-Large No. 5
William Penn (Iowa) Heart of America Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
William Woods (Mo.) American Midwest Conference Tournament Champion

2017 Women’s Golf National Championships Individual Qualifiers (listed alphabetically by conference)


Morgan Reimier, Columbia (Mo.) American Midwest Conference Medalist
Marissa Singer, St. Francis (Ind.) Crossroads League Medalist
Gina Kowalchuk, Great Falls (Mont.) Frontier Conference Medalist
Amy Ahlers, Concordia (Neb.) Great Plains Athletic Conference Medalist
Kimberly Nelson, Grand View (Iowa) Heart of America Athletic Conference Medalist
Aspen Bryant, Bethany (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Medalist