COBOURG, Ont. – The teams are set and ready for puck-drop at the 2017 RBC Cup in Cobourg, Ont., May 13-21.


Five teams – including the host Cobourg Cougars – are ready to lace them up in the final stretch of their journey to capture the RBC Cup.


What started as 132 teams in 10 CJHL leagues on the #Road2RBC now sees the following teams featured at the Cobourg Community Centre this week: Trenton Golden Hawks (Central); Cobras de Terrebonne (East); Cobourg Cougars (Host); Brooks Bandits (West – 1); and Penticton Vees (West – 2).


“From our vast volunteer base to the support received from the Town of Cobourg, the local businesses within Northumberland County and hockey fans from across Canada, the entire community has come together in an unprecedented way to make sure this will be an event to remember for these five teams and their fans and everyone involved,” said Marc Mercier, 2017 RBC Cup host-committee chair. “It’s been a long road for these teams to qualify to play for the RBC Cup and Canada’s National Junior A Championship; we are in for a great event, and some great hockey over the course of the next nine days.”


The first game gets underway at 3:30 p.m. ET when the Cobras de Terrebonne face off against the 2013 RBC Cup champions, the Brooks Bandits. All five teams will take part in an on-ice opening ceremony before the 7:30 p.m. ET game which features the host Cobourg Cougars taking on their nearby rivals, the Trenton Golden Hawks.