Zac Coughlan of the Swilers RFC was named the Danny King Memorial Trophy winner as MVP of the Al Charron Cup/Eastern Canadian rugby club championship held over the weekend in Ottawa.

Swilers took its third straight title at the event, winning all three of its games, 33-12 over the host Ottawa Irish, 22-3 over Ste-Anne de Bellevue of Quebec and 29-3 over the Fredericton, N.B., Loyalists.

Individual Man of the Match awards for Swilers went to Coughlan (versus Ottawa) Matthew Smallwood (Ste-Anne) and Patrick McNicholas (Fredericton).

The championship trophy for the tourney — now in its sixth year — is named after legendary Canadian player Al Charron, who was a member of the Irish. Earlier this year, Charron, along with Newfoundland’s Rod Snow and five others, was named and inaugural inductee into Rugby Canada’s Hall of Fame.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!