FORMER SCOTTISH INTERNATIONAL BROWN JOINS CANADA’S COACHING STAFF

75
Kelly Brown

Former Scottish international Kelly Brown will join Canada’s senior men’s coaching staff as a defence coach for their upcoming four test matches in June and July.

Brown, 34, won 64 test caps for Scotland, scoring four tries, and played in the 2007 and 2011 Rugby World Cups in France and New Zealand respectively.

“I’m delighted to be joining Canada for their important June internationals,” Brown said. “I know many of the players, from playing against them in the UK, and am excited to see what this playing group can achieve.”

Brown also played professionally for the Glasgow Warriors and Saracens. He won the Premiership rugby title three times during his career (2010, 2015, 2016) and the Champions Cup twice (2016, 2017).

“Rugby Canada are very pleased to welcome Kelly Brown to the Men’s fifteens coaching team for the June internationals,” Rugby Canada’s General Manager of Performance and Rugby Operations Jim Dixon said. “It is an important month with tests against Georgia, Romania and the two Rugby World Cup qualifiers against the USA. Kelly brings a wealth of international experience from his playing days with Scotland and he’s been an integral part of the winning culture at Saracens.”

Canada will face Georgia on June 10 at Calgary Rugby Park before battling Romania on June 17 in Edmonton at Ellerslie Rugby Park.

Canada will then return to Ontario as they tackle the USA on June 24 at Hamilton’s Tim Hortons Field in the first leg of their Rugby World Cup qualifier before heading to San Diego for the second leg on July 1.

“Kelly brings a wealth of knowledge as a former Captain of Scotland and having seen success with both the Glasgow Warriors and Saracens Rugby Club throughout his extensive career,” said Canada head coach Mark Anscombe.

“His experience as a player and, most recently as a coach with Saracens’ academy, will bring a fresh perspective to our coaching ranks as we prepare for an important series in June in Alberta and our Rugby World Cup Qualifiers against USA.”

Tickets for Canada’s three homes test matches are still available and can be purchased by clicking here.

Canada’s June Series Schedule:

Pacific Tyee 42-15 BC Bears — May 27 — Westhills Stadium

Pacific Tyee vs. Prairie Wolf Pack (Controlled scrimmage) — June 2 — Calgary Rugby Park

Canada vs. Romania — June 10 — Calgary Rugby Park — 5pm ET/2pm PT

Canada vs. Georgia — June 17 — Ellerslie Rugby Park — 5pm ET/2pm PT

Canada vs. USA — June 24 — Tim Horton’s Field — 3pm ET/12pm PT

Canada vs. USA — July 1 — San Diego — 6pm ET/3pm PT

 

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!