BC U19 Boys’ Squad announced for 2017 Canadian Rugby Championships

Defending champions ready for opening game against Atlantic Rock.


BC Rugby is proud to announce the 2017 U19 Boys’ XV squad for this year’s Canadian Rugby Championship (CRC), taking place in Truro, NS.  The tournament, sponsored by Langara Fishing Adventures, is the pinnacle of age grade XVs rugby in Canada, bringing together top talent across the provinces.  As defending champions, BC U19 will be looking to repeat last year’s feat of completing the tournament undefeated.

This year’s squad includes a number of players who sealed victory for BC in the U18 category in 2016, including Spencer Cooper, Kyle Joe, Evan Norris, Owen Pitblado, Brandon Schellenberger, Michael Smith, Christoph Stangl, Matias Suez and David Thompson.  Joining them are Aiden Cole, Same Turner, Gavin Kratz, Harrison Smith, Flynn Heyes, Emerzon Zuniga, Wesley Foss, Nicolas Mouret, Taylor de Souza, William Sauder, Jake Lan, Lucas De Vries, Cam Waddell, Rhys McMartin, Jonas Robinson and Payton Gibson.  “We’ve had an excellent camp leading into this tournament and we’re looking forward to see how we match up against the competition,” said BC Rugby U19 Boys’ Team Coach Curry Hitchborn. “The team is fit, healthy and looking forward to getting stuck in to some action on the field.”

The U19 Boys’ squad have already arrived in Truro ahead of their opening match on July 18.  The Canadian Rugby Championships takes place over the course of this week at Truro Saints Rugby Club and will see BC U19 Boys facing off against Atlantic Rock and Prairie Blizzard before proceeding to the knockout portions against Voyageurs, Ontario Blues and Alberta.

Live streaming for the games will be available here

BC U19 Boys’ Canadian Rugby Championship Schedule:

BC vs. Atlantic Rock  July 18  2pm ADT/10am PDT
BC vs. Prairie Blizzard  July 19  4pm ADT/12pm PDT
Semi Final 1  July 20  12pm ADT/8am PDT
Semi Final 2  July 20  2pm ADT/10am PDT
5th Place Playoff  July 22  9am ADT/5am PDT
3rd Place Playoff  July 22  9am ADT/5am PDT
Final  July 22  11am ADT/7am PDT

BC Rugby U19 Boys’ XV Team Roster (Name, Club, Hometown):

Aiden Cole UVIC VIKES Victoria
Sam Turner UBC THUNDERBIRDS Vancouver
Klye Joe COWICHAN RFC Vancouver Island
Gavin Kratz UVIC VIKES Victoria
Harrison Smith UBC THUNDERBIRDS North Vancouver
Christoph Stangl UBC THUNDERBIRDS North Vancouver
Matias Suez UBCOB RFC Vancouver
Spencer Cooper UVIC VIKES Vancouver
Flynn Heyes CAPILANO RFC North Vancouver
Emerzon Zuniga MERALOMA RFC Vancouver
Wesley Foss LANGLEY RFC Langley
Nicolas Mouret UVIC VIKES North Saanich
Taylor De Souza COWICHAN RFC Cowichan
David Thompson UBCOB RFC Vancouver
Brandon Schellenberger CASTAWAY WANDERERS RFC Victoria
William Sauder WESTERN RFC Vancouver
Owen Pitblado WESTERN RFC Vancouver
Jake Lan UBC THUNDERBIRDS North Vancouver
Lucas De Vries UVIC VIKES Vancouver Island
Evan Norris UBC THUNDERBIRDS Vancouver  Island
Cam Waddell CAPILANO RFC Vancouver
Rhys Mcmartin BAYSIDE RFC Surrey
Jonas Robinson UVIC VIKES Victoria

Coach: Curry Hitchborn
Asst. Coach: Ken Erikson
Asst. Coach Bruce Rainer
Manager: Brock Turner

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!