The Ontario Blues Senior Men’s side took the pitch on Saturday at the Truro Saints Rugby Club for their first game of the 2017 Canadian Rugby Championship campaign. They defeated a local Atlantic Rock team 24-17.

The first half was all Blues, as the Ontario men scored early and often. Kainoa Lloyd opened up the scoring after picking off an errant Atlantic Rock pass yards from the Rock try line.

The next Ontario athlete to get in on the scoring was Rory Mcdonell who streaked down the wing to get past the Atlantic Rock defense.

Lucas Rumball scored next, as scrumhalf Andrew Ferguson quickly restarted and offloaded to Rumball who put five more points on the board.

The Blues added one more try in the first half. The Atlantic Rock added a late try and a conversion. On top of the four tries from the Blues, Andrew Ferguson kicked two conversions for Ontario. The Ontario Blues had a 24-7 lead going into halftime.

In the second half, the Atlantic Rock came out flying, building off their momentum from their late first half try. In the first ten minutes, the Rock capitalized on a Blues penalty, adding three points for the home side.

The Rock recorded a converted try late in the match, but it wasn’t enough to defeat the Blues, as Ontario went on to win the match 24-17.

Some key takeaways from the match include Ontario’s strength in the kicking game, the defensive strength of the Blues in the second half and getting solid support from the bench late in the game. Canadian Rugby Championship debutants included Will Kelly, Alex Colborne, Mario Van der Westhuizen, Pat Lynott and Kolby Francis. Coming off the bench, Francis had his first cap with the Blues.

The next Canadian Rugby Championship match for the Ontario Blues Senior Men is August 13, 2017 against the Prairie Wolf Pack from Calgary Rugby Park. Kickoff for the match is 3:00pm ET. Match stream information is yet to released.

Ontario Blues Sr. Men vs. Atlantic Rock – July 22, 2017

1. Rob Brouwer, Lindsay RFC (Captain)

2. Eric Howard, Brantford Harlequins

3. Tom Dolezel, London St. Georges

4. Hank McQueen, Balmy Beach

5. Mike Sheppard, Stoney Creek Camels

6. Lucas Rumball, Balmy Beach

7. Peter Milazzo, Toronto Saracens

8. Jeremy Wright, Lindsay RFC

9. Andrew Ferguson, Crusaders

10. Shawn Windsor, Stoney Creek Camels

11. Kainoa Lloyd, Mississauga Blues

12. Alex Colborne, Toronto Scottish

13. Josh Campbell, London St. Georges

14. Dan Moor, Balmy Beach

15. Rory McDonnell, Brantford Harlequins

16. Andrew Quattrin, Aurora Barbarians

17. Pat Lynott, Bytown Blues

18. Ryan Surgenor, Bytown Blues

19. Kolby Francis, Brantford Harlequins

20. Andrew Wilson, Crusaders

21. John Sheridan, Markham Irish

22. Will Kelly, Brantford Harlequins

23. Mario Van Der Westhuizen, Guelph Redcoats


Coach Chris Silverthorn

Asst Coach Cory Hector

Manager Mark Winokur

Analyst Rodin Lozada

Athletic Therapist Chris Kelly


July 22, 2017 Blues 24 vs. 17 Atlantic Rock – KO 4pm ET

August 13, 2017 vs. Prairie Wolf Pack – KO 3pm ET

August 16, 2017 vs. BC Bears – KO 7pm ET

August 19, 2017 vs. TBD – KO 7pm ET/9pm ET


2016 – Ontario Blues

2015 – Prairie Wolf Pack

2014 – Ontario Blues

2013 – Ontario Blues

2012 – Ontario Blues

2011 – Ontario Blues

2010 – Atlantic Rock

2009 – BC Bears