Langley, BC based Smart Savvy+ Garneau U23 Cycling Team, is excited to announce that six members of the 2017 team have been chosen to compete in the upcoming Canada Summer Games in Winnipeg, MB. From August 8-13th. The top U23 road cyclists from across Canada will be representing their home provinces for National glory in the Road Race, Time Trial and Points Criterium.

Mitch Ketler from Winnipeg, MB will get the chance to race in front of family and friends as he represents his home province at the event on his familiar training roads. Manitoba will have one of the strongest teams entered into the 3 days of racing with a roster of world class talent.

Lukas Conly and Joshua Kropf will be donning the green and white colors of Team Saskatchewan, Connor Toppings for Team Alberta and Alex Amiri and Chris Macleod round out the Smart Savvy+ riders from BC who will be in Winnipeg at the start of August.

“The Smart Savvy+ Garneau team has been in operation for the past three season, and to be able to place 6 of our athletes at this prestigious event is a remarkable achievement,” states Marketing Director Rob Thomson. “They have improved as a team, and grown as athletes over the course of this season. We are looking forward to seeing them continue to perform at the Canada Games.”

The Canada Games are a quadrennial event that is hosted this year in Winnipeg, MB. The multi sport event attracts the top athletes in Canada to compete in their sporting disciplines and develop them for the world stage. Previous cycling alumni who have competed at the Canada Games are Brian Walton and Cindy Klassen, both world class cyclists who left their mark on the sport. This year, the six Smart Savvy+ athletes will have the opportunity to leave their mark on the games and use the event as a launching pad for their careers in the sport.

“We wish all the athletes the best of luck this month, and in particular we wish our six young men the very best! They have raced incredibly well this year for our team across the country and we know they are ready for this season ending event,” adds Thomson

Joshua Kropf                Lukas Conly

Alex Amiri                Chris Macleod

Connor Toppings            Mitch Ketler