Athletics Canada announced today that the City of Abbotsford, located in the Fraser Valley region of British Columbia, will play host to the 2019 and 2020 Canadian Cross Country Championships.

The organization’s Competition Committee met in late July to further discuss the City’s bid, and then confirmed Abbotsford, B.C., as the host for the 2019 and 2020 Canadian Cross Country Championships. The annual event will take place in Clearbrook Park, a popular destination for hikers, joggers and families, on Saturday, Nov. 30, 2019, and Saturday, Nov. 28, 2020.

“On behalf of Athletics Canada, I would be like congratulate the City of Abbotsford, BC Athletics and the local organizing committee on a successful bid for the 2019 and 2020 Canadian Cross Country Championships,” said Athletics Canada’s Chief Executive Officer Rob Guy. “After hosting countless local, high school and provincial championships, we are confident that the City will provide Canadian runners with an exceptional experience in a parklike setting where fans can come out and cheer on our country’s top athletes.”

Surrounded by parkland and acres of green space, the proposed course features open grass fields with a small hill at the centre of the action, making it one of the most spectator-friendly cross-country courses in the region. The one-day event will see Canada’s top cross-country runners take to the trails alongside local youth, members of the Abbotsford community and Canadian Masters.

“We are delighted to welcome athletes from across the country to a new venue for the Canadian Cross Country Championships,” said BC Athletics Technical Manager and local organizing committee member Maurice Wilson. “Abbotsford’s Clearbrook Park has hosted both club and high school championships in recent years, therefore, hosting a national championship is the next natural step.”

Subsequent announcements will be made to announce hosts for the 2019-2020 Hershey Canadian Indoor Championships, 2019-2020 5km Road Race Championships and 2021-2022 Canadian Cross Country Championships.