Eric Penney from the Burnaby Lakers

Burnaby, BC – The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) is excited to conclude the 2017 team and individual award winners, as voted by the Board of Governors in consultation with their team executives and staff.

Earlier today, the WLA announced the following awards:

First, the Leo Nicholson Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Goaltender was donated by H.N. Delmonico, and is awarded per his wishes to a goaltender who displays outstanding goal keeping ability all season, regardless of the statistics or standing of his team. This year’s winner is Eric Penney from the Burnaby Lakers.

The Gordon C. Nicholson Memorial Award for Outstanding Defensive Player was donated by the Nicholson family in memory of this former WLA Commissioner and long-time friend of lacrosse. It is awarded to a player demonstrating outstanding defensive abilities and possessing leadership qualities on and off the floor. This year’s winner is Brett Mydske from the New Westminster Salmonbellies.

Finally, the Commission Trophy for Most Outstanding Player was donated by the members of the 1958 Inter-City Box Lacrosse League Commission, and is awarded to the overall most outstanding player in regular season play. This year’s Most Outstanding Player is Robert Church of the Burnaby Lakers.

The Western Lacrosse Association is thrilled to congratulate all the winners, and all teams for an incredibly exciting 2017 regular season. The WLA Finals continue Friday night in Victoria where the New Westminster Salmonbellies take a 2 – 1 series lead to The Q Centre – opening faceoff is at 6pm, available live on WLA TV at