VICTORIA – Rowing Canada Aviron (RCA) announced yesterday the selections for the World Rowing Championships in Sarasota-Bradenton, Florida from September 24 to October 1.

Among the athletes selected to represent Team Canada are two current members of the UVic Vikes rowing program as well as two Vikes alumni.

Patrick Keane and Taylor Perry, entering their second and third years as Vikes respectively, will be making their senior World Championships debut, though neither of them lack experience on an international stage, as both Keane and Perry have represented Canada at the Under-23 World Championship level.

Keane is paired with Taylor Hardy in the Lightweight men’s double sculls, while Perry will compete in the men’s four.

Alongside Perry in the men’s four is former Vike and 2016 Rio Olympian Kai Langerfeld. The final member of the Vikes contingent named to the team is former Vike, Becca Zimmerman. Having just completed her five seasons of eligibility last year Zimmerman will slot into the women’s eight boat.

The eight crews representing Canada include World Cup 3 medallists Carling Zeeman, returning in the single, and the women’s four. The women’s eight will make its first international appearance of the season and includes six returning Olympians – Susanne Grainger, Nicole Hare, Hillary Janssens, Jennifer Martins, Lisa Roman and Christine Roper – and Paralympic bonze-medallist Kristen Kit as coxswain.

With a review of the men’s sweep crews following World Cup 3, minor adjustments have been made to the men’s four, with the addition of Olympian Kai Langerfeld and Mackenzie Copp to the World Cup 3 crew of David de Groot and Taylor Perry. Copp and de Groot are reunited from their bronze medal men’s four crew at the 2015 World Rowing Under-23 Championships and Perry, a 2015 World Under-23 Champion in the men’s quad. Olympians Matthew Buie and Conlin McCabe remain in the double, following their seventh-place finish in Lucerne.

The lightweight crews that represented in Lucerne and at this year’s World Rowing Under-23 Championships have been reaffirmed with adjustments that see Patrick Keane and Taylor Hardy together in the lightweight men’s double and Aaron Lattimer in the single. The lightweight women’s program has been consolidated into the quadruple sculls.

RCA’s 2017 National Team is led by Men’s Head Coach, Terry Paul and Women’s Head Coach, Dave Thompson. Thompson will be supported by senior national teach coach Michelle Darvill, while Paul will be supported by senior assistant national team coaches Roger Meager and Jeremy Ivey. Nominated crews will participate in a pre-World Championships training camp in Welland, Ontario September 10thto 20th prior to departing directly for Florida.

2017 Canadian National Senior Team to compete at World Rowing Championships, Sarasota Bradenton, Florida

Women’s single scull
Carling Zeeman (Sudbury Rowing Club – Cambridge, ON)

Women’s four 
Susanne Grainger (London Rowing Club – London, ON)
Nicole Hare (Calgary Rowing Club – Calgary, AB)
Lisa Roman (Western Rowing Club – Langley, BC)
Christine Roper (Ottawa Rowing Club – Montego Bay, Jamaica)

Lightweight women’s quadruple sculls
Jennifer Casson (Kingston Rowing Club – Kingston, ON)
Ellen Gleadow (Burnaby Lake Rowing Club – Vancouver, BC)
Trish Mara (Victoria City Rowing Club – Victoria, BC)
Jill Moffat (University of Western Ontario Boat Club – Bethany, ON)

Women’s eight 
Kristin Bauder (Western Rowing Club – Langley, BC)
Susanne Grainger (London Rowing Club – London, ON)
Nicole Hare (Calgary Rowing Club – Calgary, AB)
Hillary Janssens (University of British Columbia Rowing Club, Cloverdale, BC)
Jennifer Martins (University of Western Ontario Boat Club – Toronto, ON)
Lisa Roman (Western Rowing Club – Langley, BC)
Christine Roper (Ottawa Rowing Club – Montego Bay, Jamaica)
Becca Zimmerman (University of Victoria Rowing Club – Victoria, BC)
Cox: Kristen Kit (St. Catharines Rowing Club – St. Catharines, ON)

Men’s four
Mackenzie Copp (Western Rowing Club – London, ON)
David de Groot (St. Catharines Rowing Club – St. Catharines, ON)
Kai Langerfeld (University of Victoria Rowing Club – North Vancouver, BC)
Taylor Perry (University of Victoria Rowing Club – Ancaster, ON)

Men’s double sculls
Matthew Buie (St. Catharines Rowing Club – Duntroon, ON)
Conlin McCabe (Brockville Rowing Club – Brockville, ON)

Lightweight men’s single scull
Aaron Lattimer (University of British Columbia Rowing Club – Delta, BC)

Lightweight men’s double sculls
Taylor Hardy (Burnaby Lake Rowing Club – North Vancouver, BC)
Patrick Keane (University of Victoria Rowing Club – Victoria, BC)