Jersey City, N.J. – The top-10 players for the International and U.S. Teams who will compete in the 2017 Presidents Cup were determined with the conclusion of the Dell Technologies Championship, the second event in the FedExCup Playoffs. The two team captains, Nick Price for the International Team and Steve Stricker for the U.S. Team, will each make two captain’s selections on Wednesday, September 6, at 5 p.m. ET to round out their 12-player teams. The Presidents Cup – a team, match-play competition featuring 24 of the world’s top golfers, will be held at Liberty National Golf Club in Jersey City, New Jersey, September 26-October 1.
The International Team consists of the top-10 international players (non-U.S. and non-European) from the Official World Golf Ranking as of September 4, 2017, plus two captain’s selections. The U.S. Presidents Cup Team is comprised of the top-10 U.S. players who earned the most FedExCup points from September 15, 2015, through September 4, 2017, with points earned starting with the 2016 BMW Championship doubled, plus two captain’s selections.
Player Country Prior appearances Record Pos. to start season
1.     Hideki Matsuyama Japan 2013, 2015 3/4/2002 4
2.     Jason Day Australia 2011, 2013, 2015 4/8/2003 1
3.     Adam Scott Australia 2003-05-07-09-11-13-15 13-17-5 2
4.     Louis Oosthuizen South Africa 2013, 2015 5/3/2002 5
5.     Marc Leishman Australia 2013, 2015 3/4/2001 11
6.     Charl Schwartzel South Africa 2011, 2013, 2015 6/7/2001 7
7.     Branden Grace South Africa 2013, 2015 5/4/2000 3
8.     Si Woo Kim South Korea 10
9.     Jhonattan Vegas Venezuela 18
10.  Adam Hadwin Canada 58
Player Prior appearances Record Pos. to start season
1.     Dustin Johnson 2011, 2015 4/4/2001 1
2.     Jordan Spieth 2013, 2015 5/4/2000 2
3.     Justin Thomas 8
4.     Rickie Fowler 2015 1/3/2000 20
5.     Daniel Berger 7
6.     Brooks Koepka 18
7.     Kevin Kisner 13
8.     Patrick Reed 2015 1/2/2001 3
9.     Matt Kuchar 2011, 2013, 2015 4/7/2002 11
10.  Kevin Chappell 4
There was no movement from outside the top 10 for the International Team this week. Seven of the 10 qualifiers are returning team members from the 2015 Presidents Cup, led by Australia’s Adam Scott who will represent the International Team for the eighth straight time dating back to 2003, and Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama, who finished No. 1 in the International Team standings.
Three International Team members will participate in the event for the first time: Si Woo Kim (No. 8) of South Korea, Jhonattan Vegas (No. 9) of Venezuela and Adam Hadwin (No. 10) of Canada. The International Team, at this point, includes three Australians, three South Africans and one player each from Canada, Japan, South Korea and Venezuela.
Despite a final-round 73, Hadwin finished T13 to solidify his No. 10 position. On the bubble for the International Team during the latter part of the season, he was relieved to play well at the Dell Technologies Championship, becoming the first Canadian since Mike Weir in 2009 to qualify for the International Team.
“It’s huge to make the International Team; I’ve been speaking about the Presidents Cup all week that it’s been in the forefront of my mind,” Hadwin said. “I’m disappointed to not play well today, but, I came out here and did what I needed to do to qualify for the team.”
The U.S. Team will be led by Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth and Justin Thomas, who finished Nos. 1-3 in the standings after combining for 12 PGA TOUR titles during the 2016-17 season. Matt Kuchar (No. 9) is the most experienced player on the U.S. Team with three previous appearances (2011, 2013, 2015). Five U.S. players will be making their Presidents Cup debut: Justin Thomas (No. 3); Daniel Berger (No. 5); Brooks Koepka (No. 6); Kevin Kisner (No. 7); and Kevin Chappell (No. 10). The record for the most U.S. players making their Presidents Cup debut is six, which was set in 1996 and 2011; that could be matched pending Stricker’s captain’s picks Wednesday.
Chappell dramatically moved into the final 10 for the U.S. Team, supplanting No. 10 Charley Hoffman by less than one point. Chappell entered the week in 11th position, 23 points behind Hoffman, but finished T35 at TPC Boston to edge Hoffman, who finished T47.
“It’s been a range of emotions the last few days, but now with me having made the team, it’s a great feeling and my emotions move towards getting ready to win the Presidents Cup for the U.S. Team,” said Chappell. “The whole year has been gratifying, to have a daughter, win my first golf tournament (Valero Texas Open) and now be able to represent my country, it’s really cool.”
“The (qualifying) system is right. For (making a team) to be a culmination of a year and a half or two years, you know, every putt matters. You never know where you’re at or where you’ll be in a year and a half when you’re hitting a putt at the CareerBuilder Challenge and everything seems so unattainable.”
Below is a list of players ranked No. 11-20 for each team (* = no Presidents Cup experience). Stricker and Price will name their captains’ selections via Golf Channel at 5 p.m. ET on Wednesday.
                     International Team                                  U.S. Team
                     11. Emiliano Grillo (Argentina) *                          11. Charley Hoffman *
                     12. Hideto Tanihara (Japan) *                               12. Brian Harman *
                     13. Yuta Ikeda (Japan) *                                       13. Jason Dufner
                     14. Hao Tong Li (China) *                                   14. Gary Woodland *
                     15. Byeong Hun An (South Korea) *                    15. Phil Mickelson
                     16. Anirban Lahiri (India)                                     16. Brendan Steele *
                     17. Jeunghun Wang (South Korea)*                      17. Brandt Snedeker
                     18. Dylan Frittelli (South Africa) *                         18. Bill Haas
                     19. Sung Kang (South Korea) *                            19. Ryan Moore *
                     20. Danny Lee (New Zealand)                              20. Kevin Na *