U SPORTS TOP 10 TUESDAY

39
The Alberta Golden Bears (men) and Laval Rouge et Or (women) remain the teams to beat following the second week of the U SPORTS soccer season.
On the men’s side, Ajeej Sakaria and Ajay Khabra each scored twice as Alberta went undefeated over the weekend. The Golden Bears drew Lethbridge 1-1 Saturday before beating Saskatchewan 4-1 at home on Sunday. Alberta visits Fraser Valley on Friday (9 p.m.ET/6 p.m. PT) and UNBC on Sunday (2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT).
In women’s action, Marie-Mychèle Métivier and Kim Tremblay found the back of net under 10 minutes apart in the second half, as Laval began defence of its national banner with a 2-0 win at home Friday against Bishop’s. The Rouge et Or host UQTR this Friday (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT).
Note: Due to thunderstorms in Southern Ontario on Monday night, and the late finish of the the Windsor/Toronto and Guelph/Western Week 2 football games, the FRC-U SPORTS Football Top 10 will be announced on Wednesday morning, Sept. 6
Top 10 rankings for women’s rugby will begin next Tuesday, Sept. 12.
U SPORTS TOP 10 Tuesday Rankings – Sept. 5, 2017
MEN’S SOCCER
(regular season record) / Pts / (previous ranking)
1. Alberta (3-0-1) / 60 pts / (1)
2. UQAM (1-0-0) / 51 pts / (2)
3. Guelph (3-0-1) / 47 pts / (3)
4. UBC (3-0-1) / 42 pts / (5)
5. Cape Breton (0-0-0) / 33 pts / (4)
6. Toronto (3-0-1) / 30 pts / (8)
7. Ryerson (3-0-1) / 29 pts / (9)
8. Acadia (0-0-0) / 6 pts* / (7)
T9. McMaster (3-1-0) / 6 pts** / (NR)
T9. Montreal (1-0-0) / 6 pts** / (NR)
*Acadia edges McMaster and Montreal for No.8 due to a higher number of higher-placed votes.
**McMaster and Montreal tie for No.9 with the same number of higher-placed votes.
Other teams receiving votes: Western (5), UQTR (4), Saskatchewan (2), UBC Okanagan (2), Carleton (1), UPEI (1), York (1)
WOMEN’S SOCCER
(regular season record) / Pts / (previous ranking)
1. Laval (1-0-0) / 60 pts / (1)
2. UOIT (3-0-0) / 52 pts / (2)
3. Trinity Western (0-0-0) / 44 pts / (4)
4. UBC (0-1-0) / 38 pts / (3)
5. Queen’s (2-0-0) / 34 pts / (5)
6. Montreal (0-0-1) / 27 pts / (6)
7. Calgary (0-0-0) / 24 pts / (7)
8. Cape Breton (0-0-0) / 11 pts* / (8)
9. Victoria (1-0-0) / 11 pts* / (NR)
10. Ottawa (3-1-0) / 9 pts / (NR)
* Cape Breton edges Victoria for No. 8 spot thanks to a greater number of higher-placed votes
Other teams receiving votes: Acadia (7), Guelph (6), Memorial (3), Alberta (2), Western (2)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!