U SPORTS TOP 10 TUESDAY

17
he StFX X-Women open the 2017 campaign as the top-ranked women’s rugby team in the nation.
StFX (1-0), earned the No.1 ranking to begin the season for the second time in three years, after capturing the national championship last fall with a 27-19 victory over Ottawa. Kicking off their title defence Friday night at home, June Beals and Sara McCarron scored three tries apiece, while Danielle Franada kicked 10 conversions as the X-Women shut out Saint Mary’s 105-0.
StFX visits UPEI on Saturday (1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT).
In men’s and women’s soccer, Alberta (3-0-1) and Laval (2-0-0) maintain the pole position for the third straight week respectively. Idle over the weekend, the Golden Bears visit Fraser Valley on Friday (9 p.m.ET/6 p.m. PT) and UNBC on Sunday (2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT), while the Rouge et Or picked up a 2-1 win at home Friday over UQTR. Laval visits Concordia this Friday (8:45 p.m. ET/5:45 p.m. PT) before hosting McGill Sunday (3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT).
Top 10 rankings for men’s and women’s cross country will begin next Tuesday, Sept. 19.
U SPORTS TOP 10 Tuesday Rankings – Sept. 12, 2017
MEN’S SOCCER
(Regular Season Record) / Points / (Previous Ranking)
1. Alberta (3-0-1) / 60 pts / (1)
2. UBC (3-0-1) / 49 pts / (4)
3. Toronto (5-0-1) / 38 pts / (6)
4. Montreal (2-0-0) / 37 pts / (T9)
5. Guelph (4-1-1) / 34 pts / (3)
6. Cape Breton (1-0-0) / 34 pts / (5)
7. Ryerson (5-0-1) / 30 pts / (7)
8. UQAM (1-1-0) / 22 pts / (2)
9. McMaster (4-2-0) / 6 pts / (T9)
10. StFX (2-0-0) / 4 pts / (NR)
Other teams receiving votes: Western (3), McGill (3), Dalhousie (2), Carleton (2), York (2), Memorial (2), Saskatchewan (1)
WOMEN’S SOCCER
(Regular Season Record) / Points / (Previous Ranking)
1. Laval (2-0-0) / 60 pts / (1)
2. UOIT (5-0-0) / 54 pts / (2)
3. UBC (2-1-0) / 43 pts / (4)
4. Ottawa (4-1-1) / 33 pts* / (10)
5. Queen’s (3-0-1) / 33 pts* / (5)
6. Montreal (1-0-1) / 31 pts / (6)
7. Trinity Western (1-1-0) / 27 pts / (3)
8. Cape Breton (1-0-0) / 14 pts / (8)
9. Memorial (2-0-0) / 9 pts / (NR)
10. Alberta (1-0-1) / 8 pts* / (NR)
* Ottawa edges Queen’s for No. 4 spot thanks to a higher number of higher-placed votes. Alberta edges Windsor for No. 10 spot thanks to a higher number of higher-placed votes
Other teams receiving votes: Windsor (8) MacEwan (5) StFX (2) Calgary (2) Victoria (1)
WOMEN’S RUGBY
(Regular Season Record) / Points (1st Place) / (Previous Ranking)
1. StFX           (1-0) / 134 pts (10) / (-)
2. Laval          (2-0) / 98 pts (1) / (-)
3. Guelph       (2-0) / 95 pts (1) / (-)
4. Calgary      (0-0) / 92 pts / (-)
5. Ottawa       (1-1) / 76 pts / (-)
6. McMaster   (1-0) / 67 pts (1) / (-)
7. Queen’s      (1-1) / 55 pts / (-)
8. Concordia  (1-1) / 41 pts / (-)
9. Victoria       (0-0) / 38 pts / (-)
10. Acadia      (1-0) / 19 pts / (-)
Other teams receiving votes: Brock (4), Carleton (4), Alberta (2), Lethbridge (2), UPEI (1)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!