Three race victories for Canada and Women’s Eight clinch A final at 2017 World Championships

35

Canada had a solid day of racing in Sarasota with three race victories and A final qualification for Women’s Eight.

Canada locked down a huge win in the Women’s Eight repechage against the favoured United States and Great Britain. “We were aware that the race was tight but we felt relaxed and confident through the middle thousand so coming into the last five hundred, all we had to do was step up in gear to the line which we knew we had in the bank,” said Christine Roper.

Canada finished just ahead of USA with only 0.51 seconds of separation. “We’ve gone over our race plan a ton and evaluated it after the first race and knew what we needed to do in the first 10-15 strokes to get the best out of it and we did better than ever today,” said Kristin Bauder.

The A final is set up to be an epic big boat battle with all the heavy hitters including Romania, Great Britain, Netherlands, New Zealand and USA. The United States has been unbeaten at the World Championship and Olympic level for over 10 years. “A race win against USA does provide some confidence but they will be hungry going into the final so we don’t take anything for granted and know we need to bring our A game on Sunday,” said Roper. “Canada’s got such a rich tradition in the women’s eight. We are not only representing ourselves but the legacy of people that came before us.”

The Men’s double, Colin McCabe and Matt Buie, bounced back from a tough repechage loss yesterday commanding the lead in the C/D semis from start to finish today. “Matt and I are a new combination and we haven’t had many opportunities to race internationally,” said McCabe. “These are the experiences that we need if we want to be successful in the future.” The race win secures McCabe and Buie’s spot in the C final tomorrow.  “The goal is to have our best race of the year tomorrow.”

The Men’s four finished 4th in the Semifinal A/B today moving them into the B final on Saturday morning.  “We rowed a really good race and did everything we could. We knew that when we took those last strokes that it was the last amount of energy that we all had. We went out with 100% trust in each other and simply ended up short this time,” reflects Taylor Perry. “The important thing for us now is to recognize what we did well and use that to attack the B final.”

The final race victory of the day for Canada came from lightweight men’s single sculler Aaron Lattimer.  Aaron pulled away from the pack with a smooth semi-final race win to advance him to the C final tomorrow morning.

Tomorrow, Canadian Lightweight Women’s Quad line up for the A final, Carling Zeeman races lightweight single semi A/B and three Canadian boats compete in C finals.

09:30 ET/6:30PT – LM1x – C Final
11:05 ET/8:05PT – W1x – Semi A/B
13:00 ET/10:00PT –LW4x – FINAL A
13:55 ET/10:55PT – LM2x – Final C
14:15 ET/11:15ET – M2x – Final C

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!