MONTEVIDEO, URUGUAY – Canada ‘A’ head coach Mike Shelley has announced his starting team to open the 2017 Americas Pacific Challenge against Argentina XV on Saturday at Estadio Charrua.

“We arrived Tuesday at two in the morning after leaving Canada on Sunday and have managed to get in two training sessions each day along with weights to get our feet in Montevideo. We have a short preparation time and we’re focusing on being able to perform on Saturday and I know the players are excited to hit the field,” said Shelley from Montevideo.

Last year Canada opened the APC with a 56-29 loss to the Argentines, with five returnees – Adrian Wadden, Conor Keys, Pat Parfrey, Lucas Rumball and Guiseppe du Toit – in the starting roster for this weekend’s contest.

“We’ve put together a game plan that suits the team that we have, changed up quite a bit, and the players and staff are happy. Argentina, whether it’s the Pumas, Jaguars or XV side, are known for playing a wide, expansive brand of rugby with a lot of decoy runners and offloads and we’re going to have to be ready for that,” added Shelley.

In its second year, the Americas Pacific Challenge (APC) is a key development tournament for up-and-coming players looking to gain international experience before test match windows.

Canada’s Senior Men’s Team returns to action on November 3rd at BC Place against the NZ Maori All Blacks at BC Place, before heading to Europe for their annual international series. In Europe Canada will face Georgia (Tbilisi), Spain (Madrid) and Fiji (Montpellier) on the 11th, 18th and 25th.

All APC games to be streamed live, with details still to be provided ASAP by World Rugby.

Canada ‘A’ Roster to face Argentina XV:

1. Hubert Buydens – (New Orleans Gold/Prairie Wolf Pack) Saskatoon, SK

2. Martial Lagain – (Sherbrooke Abenakis/Atlantic Rock) Saint-Jean-de-Marsacq, France

3. Cole Keith – (Bellesile Rovers/Atlantic Rock) Sussex, NB

4. Adrian Wadden – (Leeds Beckett University/Ontario Blues) Mississauga, ON

5. Conor Keys – (UVIC Vikes/Atlantic Rock) Stittsville, ON

6. Kyle Gilmour – Captain (St. Albert RFC/Prairie Wolf Pack) St. Albert, AB

7. Lucas Rumball – (Balmy Beach RFC/Ontario Blues) Mississauga, ON

8. Travis Larsen – (James Bay AA/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC

9. Andrew Ferguson – (Oakville Crusaders/Ontario Blues) Mississauga, ON

10. Patrick Parfrey – (Swilers RFC/Atlantic Rock) St. John’s, NL

11. Brett Johnson – (Truro Saints/Atlantic Rock) Truro, NS

12. Guiseppe du Toit – (UVIC Vikes/BC Bears) Maple Ridge, BC

13. Mike Nieuwenhuysen – (Brampton Beavers RFC/BC Bears) Brampton, ON

14. Conor Desmond – (Calgary Irish/Prairie Wolf Pack) Rideau Ferry, ON

15. Aidan McMullan – (St. Anne-de-Bellevue RFC/Atlantic Rock) Montreal, QC

16. Eric Howard – (Brantford Harlequins/Ontario Blues) Ottawa, ON

17. Rob Brouwer – (Lindsay RFC/Ontario Blues) Lindsay, ON

18. Ryan Kotlewski – (Westshore RFC/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB

19. Liam Chisholm – (Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears) Kenora, ON

20. Dustin Dobravsky – (Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears) Hanover, Germany

21. Jorden Sandover-Best – (UBC Old Boys Ravens/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC

22. Robbie Povey – (Castaway Wanderers/Prairie Wolf Pack) Northampton, UK

23. Kainoa Lloyd – (Mississauga Blues/Ontario Blues) Mississauga, ON

Non-dressing subs:

Ray Barkwill – (Unattached/Ontario Blues) Niagara Falls, ON

Karsten Leitner – (UBC Old Boys Ravens/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC

Peter Milazzo – (Toronto Saracens/Ontario Blues) Toronto, ON

Liam Murray – (Langley Rugby Club/BC Bears) Langley, BC

Mitchell Richardson – (Stoney Creek RFC/Ontario Blues) Stoney Creek, ON

Canada A Staff:

Mike Shelley – Head Coach

Francois Ratier – Assistant Coach

Chris Silverthorn – Assistant Coach

Aaron Takel – Performance Analyst

Mallory White – Physiotherapist

Jalin Couper – Athletic Therapist

Caroline Aiken – Team Doctor

Mike Deasy – Strength and Conditioning Coach

Alana Gattinger – Manager

Americas Pacific Challenge Schedule:

October 7th at 2pm local (1pm ET/10am PT)

Montevideo, Uruguay – Estadio Charrua

Canada A vs. Argentina XV


October 11th at 11:30am local (10:30am ET/7:30am PT)

Montevideo, Uruguay – Estadio Charrua

Canada A vs. Tonga A


October 15th at 2pm local (1pm ET/10am PT)

Montevideo, Uruguay – Estadio Charrua

Canada A vs. USA Selects