OTTAWA, ON – Team Canada has made a few changes to its roster for this weekend’s Heritage Cup international box lacrosse game in Hamilton, Ont., adding local products Joey Cupido and Keil Matisz, along with national team alumnus Jordan Hall.
They join a star-studded group of Canadians, the majority of which were part of the gold medal winning team from the 2015 world championship, that will take on the U.S. on October 21 at the FirstOntario Centre.
“All three of the players that were added to the Heritage Cup roster were part of our national team player pool from the last world championships,” said head coach Eddie Comeau. “We are confident of their ability to fit in and be contributors to our efforts against Team USA at the Heritage Cup.”
Cupido, who was born and raised in Hamilton, was voted the NLL’s transition player of the year in 2015. He plays professionally for the Colorado Mammoth, and also suits up for the Cobourg Kodiaks of Major Series Lacrosse during the summer. Cupido’s connection to the local sporting scene runs deeper than just lacrosse, having suited up as a defensive back for the McMaster Marauders football team throughout his university studies.
Matisz, who was selected by the NLL’s Swarm franchise in the first-round of the 2012 entry draft, hails from nearby Stoney Creek. He last represented Canada at the 2008 FIL U19 men’s field world championship, where he won a silver medal.
They join fellow local product, Hamiltonian Ryan Dilks, on Canada’s roster.
Meanwhile, Hall, an NLL veteran from Surrey, B.C., will suit up for the national team for the first time since the 2011 world indoor lacrosse championship in Prague, Czech Republic. He last played a game in Hamilton as a member of the now defunct Hamilton Nationals field lacrosse team.
Hall and Matisz were both members of the 2017 NLL Champions Cup winning Georgia Swarm, where they were led by a familiar face, national team head coach Eddie Comeau.
  • Ryan Benesch, Forward, Kitchener, ON
  • Scott Campbell, Defense, Markham, ON
  • Joey Cupido, Defense, Hamilton, ON
  • Dan Dawson, Forward, Oakville, ON
  • Paul Dawson, Defense, Oakville, ON
  • Curtis Dickson, Forward, Port Coquitlam, BC
  • Ryan Dilks, Transition, Hamilton, ON
  • Shawn Evans, Forward, Peterborough, ON
  • Jordan Hall, Forward, Surrey, BC
  • Stephan Leblanc, Forward, Dundas, ON
  • Jordan MacIntosh, Transition, Oakville, ON
  • Kiel Matisz, Forward, Stoney Creek, ON
  • Mark Matthews, Forward, Oshawa, ON
  • Brodie Merrill, Transition, Orangeville, ON
  • Brandon Miller, Goalie, Orangeville, ON
  • Brett Mydske, Defense, New Westminster, BC
  • Steve Priolo, Defense, St. Catharines, ON
  • Kyle Rubisch, Defense, Brampton, ON
  • Billy Dee Smith, Defense, St. Catharines, ON
  • Dhane Smith, Transition, Kitchener, ON
  • Matt Vinc, Goalie, St. Catharines, ON