Canada Beats Korea In Sledge Opener

28

GANGNEUNG, South Korea – Liam Hickey (St. John’s, N.L.) and Tyler McGregor (Forest, Ont.) scored third-period goals to help Canada’s National Sledge Team to a 3-1 win over Korea in the opener of a three-game para hockey series Sunday.

The series is part of the preparations for the 2017 Paralympic Winter Games; the games are being played at the Gangneung Hockey Centre, which will host the para hockey tournament next March.

After a scoreless first period, Adam Dixon (Midland, Ont.) got Canada on the board first before Young-Sung Kim answered on a two-man advantage for the Koreans late in the middle frame.

Hickey restored the Canadian lead with an unassisted effort just 1:53 into the third period, and Dixon set up McGregor for an insurance marker midway through the final stanza to finish the scoring.

Corbin Watson (Kingsville, Ont.) earned the win in the Canadian goal.

The teams are back on the ice Tuesday (5 a.m. ET/2 a.m. PT) before the series finale on Wednesday night (9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT).

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!