Eight teams clinch berth to provincials following BC Junior Curling Tour


Eight junior curling teams have secured berths to the 2018 Boston Pizza BC Junior Curling Championships because they earned the most points on the BC Junior Curling Tour.


Team Daniels (Delta Thistle/Royal City) on the junior women’s side and Team Tardi (Langley/Royal City) on the junior men’s side were the top teams after all the points were awarded.


The teams will be looking to become BC champions when they meet with the other qualifying teams at the 2018 Boston Pizza BC Junior Curling Championships at Langley Curling Centre from Dec. 18-23.


Teams were able to take part in a total of five BC Junior Curling Tour events held across the province, including the most recent one which wrapped up at Esquimalt Curling Club on Nov. 13. Points were awarded at each event.


On the junior women’s side, Team Daniels, with Sarah Daniels, Kayla MacMillan, Megan Daniels and Sarah Loken, secured 254 points overall. Team Reese-Hansen, from Victoria Curling Club, with Taylor Reese-Hansen, Catera Park, Jordan Koster and Sydney Brilz were not far behind with 241 points.


Team Fisher, with Cierra Fisher, Dezaray Hawes, Jordan Henson, Cailin Cooke and Erin Ross was neck and neck with Team Royea, featuring Everly Royea, Tanis Short, Madeline Britz and Ardis Mellor-Laing. Team Fisher, representing Kamloops, Royal City, Chilliwack and Prince George, posted 147.19 points while Team Royea, from Langley, posted 146.43 points.


And while Team McGillivray did not earn a berth, the Vernon team of Megan McGillivray, Jaelyn Cotter, Winter Harvey and Cassidy Schwaerzle deserve an honourable mention for posting 146.25 points, just shy of a berth.


On the junior men’s side, last year’s Canadian champions, Team Tardi, are back with a new lead, Zachary Curtis. The team returns with skip Tyler Tardi, third Sterling Middleton and second Jordan Tardi. They posted 297 points to earn the top berth.


Royal City’s Team McCrady featuring Matthew McCrady, Brayden Carpenter, Nicholas Umbach and Jacob Umbach, came in second place with 264 points.


Jesse Monette’s Vernon rink featuring Erik Colwell, Adam Raber, Ben Morin and Logan Miron came in third place with 186 points, with Team Silva not far behind with 185 points. Team Silva from Cloverdale Curling Club features Nathan Silva, Nicolaus Bonneau, Scott Wilson and Nicholas Hoffard.

A further four berths are available to teams of each gender. Open playdowns will take place in Osoyoos from Nov. 24-26, 2017, and Gibsons from Dec. 1-4, 2017, to decide who will get the remaining berths.


Team Tardi was last year’s BC junior men’s champion and went on to win gold at nationals. They narrowly missed out on a medal at the world championships in Korea.


Team Brown was last year’s BC junior women’s champion. The rink skipped by Corryn Brown of Kamloops has now aged out of junior play and the team will be playing in women’s competition.