CALGARY, Alta. – Melody Davidson, Hockey Canada’s general manager of National Women’s Team Programs, and Laura Schuler, head coach of Canada’s National Women’s Team, announced Monday that two players have been released from Canada’s National Women’s Team’s centralized roster.


Defenceman Erin Ambrose (Keswick, Ont./Toronto, CWHL) and forward Amy Potomak (Aldergrove, B.C./Minnesota, WCHA) have been released.


“On behalf of Hockey Canada and our staff, I’d like to thank Amy and Erin for their contribution and dedication to our team,” said head coach Laura Schuler. “This was a difficult decision but as our team continues its preparation it was necessary to move forward with a smaller number of players. The National Women’s Team program supports all players on a daily basis and will continue to support Amy and Erin moving forward.”


Twenty-six players remain on Canada’s centralization roster; three goaltenders, eight defencemen, and 15 forwards. Canada plans to field a 23-player roster for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, including three goaltenders.


Prior to the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, Canada’s National Women’s Team will continue its Esso Series schedule and USA Series games in St. Paul, Minn., (Dec. 3), Winnipeg (Dec. 5), San Jose, Calif., (Dec. 15) and Edmonton (Dec. 17).


Statement from Erin Ambrose:

“I would like to thank Hockey Canada for the opportunity to be part of centralization over the last couple of months; it has been an incredible experience to be part of this journey. I wish my teammates nothing but the best as they move forward and will be cheering for them every step of the way.”


Statement from Amy Potomak:

“I would like to thank Hockey Canada and my teammates who have pushed me to become a better person and player, and have supported me through centralization. I also want to thank the fans for their support throughout my journey. I am disappointed right now but I understand it’s not my time and this will make me better moving forward. I’m going to take some time and decide what my next steps are. I wish Team Canada the best of luck moving forward.”