LONDON, ENGLAND – Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team dropped their second game of their November international series 49-12 on Tuesday to England in a much-improved performance at Twickenham Stoop.

After opening the series with a 79-5 loss last Friday, Interim head coach Sandro Fiorino made eight changes to his starting roster. However, minutes before the game kicked off he was forced to make one more change as inside-centre Emily Belchos was ruled out of content due to injury; Nadia Popov came off the bench for her second start for Canada and Emily Nicholl joined the game day roster on the bench.

Janna Slevinsky and McKinley Hunt scored Canada’s tries, while England touched down for eight tries on the day. Today marked the 27th test match between Canada and England, with Canada winning on four occasions.

Canada and England will close out their tour on Saturday, November 25 at Twickenham Stadium (kick off at 17:40 local time) after the senior men’s international between England and Samoa.

Kick off on Saturday is 12:40pm ET/9:40am PT and will be available via TSN “GO” online.

Canada’s Women’s Team to face England:

  1. Brittany Kassil, Guelph Redcoats (Guelph, ON)
  2. Emily Tuttosi, Calgary Hornets (Souris, MB)
  3. Olivia De Merchant, Woodstock Wildmen (Mapledale, NB)
  4. Tyson Beukeboom, Aurora Barbarians / Cowichan RFC (Uxbridge, ON)
  5. Laura Russell, Captain, Toronto Nomads / Cowichan RFC (Bolton, ON)
  6. Pamphinette Buisa, Ottawa Irish (Gatineau, QC)
  7. Sara Svoboda, Toronto Saracens (Belleville, ON)
  8. Cindy Nelles, Belleville Bulldogs (Belleville, ON)
  9. Jess Neilson, Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
  10. Anais Holly, TMRRFC (Montreal, QC)
  11. Emmanuela Jada, Guelph Redcoats (Guelph, ON)
  12. Nadia Popov, Aurora Barbarians (Newmarket, ON)
  13. Dria Bennett, Ottawa Irish (Ottawa, ON)
  14. Paige Farries, Westshore RFC (Red Deer, AB)
  15. Brianna Miller, Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue RFC (Pointe-Claire, QC)
  16. Alexandria Ellis, Barrhaven Scottish (Ottawa, ON)
  17. Veronica Harrigan, London St Georges (Lucan, ON)
  18. McKinley Hunt, Aurora Barbarians (King City, ON)
  19. Emma Taylor, Railway Union (Scotsburn, NS)
  20. Janna Slevinsky, Calgary Saracens (St. Albert, AB)
  21. Justine Pelletier, Club de Rugby de Quebec (Quebec City, QC)
  22. Emily Nicholl, Guelph Redcoats (Toronto, ON)
  23. Sam Alli, Barrhaven Scottish (Caledon, ON)

Canada Staff:

Sandro Fiorino – Interim Head Coach
Jen Boyd – Interim Assistant Coach
Duncan McNaughton – Interim Forwards Coach
Debs McGrath – Manager
Shannon Houston – Team Doctor
Nicole Ainsworth – Athletic Therapist
Dave Gardner – Tour Analyst


15. Ellie Kildunne (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC, 1 cap), 14. Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies, 1 cap), 13. Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies, 73 caps), 12. Amber Reed (Bristol Ladies, 45 caps), 11. Charlotte Clapp (Saracens Women, 10 caps), 10. Katy Daley-Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 92 caps), 9. Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies, 14 caps); 1. Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies, 130 caps), 2. Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies, 34 caps), 3. Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 11 caps), 4. Catherine O’Donnell* (Loughborough Lightning, uncapped), 5. Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 110 caps), 6. Jo Brown* (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, uncapped), 7. Marlie Packer (Saracens Women, 52 caps), 8. Sarah Hunter © (Loughborough Lightning, 99 caps).

Replacements: 16. Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries, 4 caps), 17. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies, 32 caps), 18. Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women, 1 cap), 19. Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies, 22 caps), 20. Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol Ladies, 36 caps), 21. Caity Mattinson (Bristol Ladies, 1 cap), 22. Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women, 1 cap), 23. Lagi Tuima* (Bristol Ladies, uncapped)

*denotes uncapped player

Old Mutual Wealth Series 2017

Friday 17 November – England Women 79-5 Canada @ Allianz Park

Tuesday 21 November – England Women 49 – 12 Canada

Saturday 25 November – England Women v Canada @ Twickenham Stadium (KO 5:40pm local time (12:40pm ET/9:40am PT) Broadcast LIVE on TSN “GO”