2018 Boston Pizza BC Junior Curling Championships

The tour is over, the playdowns have wrapped up and now 16 junior curling teams have secured berths to the 2018 Boston Pizza BC Junior Curling Championships.


This past weekend saw junior teams competing in Gibsons for the final three berths of the 2018 championships for U21 curlers.


Two junior women’s teams and one junior men’s team secured the final berths. Team Bowles, from Royal City Curling Club, with Elizabeth Bowles, Sarah McCrady, Hailey Dubois and Grace McCusker, were first qualifiers at Gibsons Curling Club. The Juan de Fuca and Kerry Park team of Kayla Wilson, Brenna Drought, Loganne Bell, Sasha Wilson and Cassandra Blenkin were the second.


The final junior men’s team to qualify was Team Tao, from Richmond Curling Club. The team is made up of Johnson Tao, Branden Reimer, Connor Deane, David Loken and Jay Hou.


The teams will be looking to become BC champions when they meet with the other qualifying teams at the 2018 Boston Pizza BC Junior Curling Championships at Langley Curling Centre from Dec. 18-23.


Five berths were awarded at playdowns at Osoyoos Curling Club in November, with two junior women’s teams and three junior men’s teams clinching spots.


Kimberley’s Team Buchy, featuring Alysha Buchy, Kaila Buchy, Haylie Farquhar and Jillian Cousineau were the first qualifiers, while Vernon’s Team McGillivray, featuring Megan McGillivray, Jaelyn Cotter, Winter Harvey, Cassidy Schwaerzle and Katelyn McGillivray were the second qualifiers.


On the junior men’s side, Team Ballard of Royal City/Coquitlam took the A event spot, while Team Habkirk of Victoria took the B event spot. Team Ballard features Dawson Ballard, Hayato Sato, Joshua Miki and Troy Chong. Team Habkirk features Kyle Habkirk, Duncan Silversides, Derek Chandler and Matt Chan.


A further berth was awarded to Team Horvath because of their third place finish. The Victoria team is skipped by Alex Horvath and features Ryan Cassidy, Zane Bartlett and Tim Henderson.


Eight other teams earned berths earlier in November because they earned the most points on the BC Junior Curling Tour. Team Daniels (Delta Thistle/Royal City) on the junior women’s side and Team Tardi (Langley/Royal City) on the junior men’s side were the top teams after all the points were awarded.


Teams were able to take part in a total of five BC Junior Curling Tour events held across the province, including the most recent one which wrapped up at Esquimalt Curling Club on Nov. 13. Points were awarded at each event.


On the junior women’s side, Team Daniels, with Sarah Daniels, Kayla MacMillan, Megan Daniels and Sarah Loken, secured 254 points overall. Team Reese-Hansen, from Victoria Curling Club, with Taylor Reese-Hansen, Catera Park, Jordan Koster and Sydney Brilz were not far behind with 241 points.


Team Fisher, with Cierra Fisher, Dezaray Hawes, Jordan Henson, Cailin Cooke and Erin Ross was neck and neck with Team Royea, featuring Everly Royea, Tanis Short, Madeline Britz and Ardis Mellor-Laing. Team Fisher, representing Kamloops, Royal City, Chilliwack and Prince George, posted 147.19 points while Team Royea, from Langley, posted 146.43 points.


On the junior men’s side, last year’s Canadian champions, Team Tardi, are back with a new lead, Zachary Curtis. The team returns with skip Tyler Tardi, third Sterling Middleton and second Jordan Tardi. They posted 297 points to earn the top berth.


Royal City’s Team McCrady featuring Matthew McCrady, Brayden Carpenter, Nicholas Umbach and Jacob Umbach, came in second place with 264 points.


Jesse Monette’s Vernon rink featuring Erik Colwell, Adam Raber, Ben Morin and Logan Miron came in third place with 186 points, with Team Silva not far behind with 185 points. Team Silva from Cloverdale Curling Club features Nathan Silva, Nic Bonneau, Scott Wilson and Nic Hoffard.


The 2018 Boston Pizza BC Junior Curling Championships will see eight teams of each gender play against each other in an eight-team round robin with a four-team page playoff. The junior women’s finals and the junior men’s finals will be livestreamed on Curl BC TV (https://sportscanada.tv/curlbc) on Dec. 23.


Team Tardi was last year’s BC junior men’s champion and went on to win gold at nationals. They narrowly missed out on a medal at worlds in South Korea.