Full match schedules announced for HSBC Sydney Sevens

Match schedules announced for HSBC Sydney Sevens 2018


The full match schedules for both the men’s and women’s HSBC Sydney Sevens 2018 have been released with 28 teams set to compete across three action-packed days on 26-28 January.

Fans will be treated to 79 matches as the Allianz Stadium plays host to Sydney’s biggest festival of rugby across Australia Day weekend.


In the women’s 12-team tournament, Dubai champions and hosts Australia will begin the second leg of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series with matches against France, Spain and Papua New Guinea in Pool A on day one.

Women’s world series champions New Zealand play USA, England and Japan in Pool B while reigning Sydney champions Canada face Russia, Ireland and Fiji in Pool C.

In the men’s 16-team tournament, the All Blacks Sevens arrive at the third round of the world series top of the standings following their victory in Cape Town earlier in December. They face Fiji, Samoa and Russia in Pool A.

Cape Town finalists Argentina will contest Pool B against France, Wales and Kenya while reigning Sydney champions South Africa play England, Spain and Papua New Guinea in Pool C. Canada, USA, Australia and Scotland complete Pool D.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!