Fields are complete for U18 and Senior curling championships


A busy weekend of playdowns saw the final berths awarded to U18 and senior teams vying to become champions of BC.

The 2018 Optimist BC U18 Curling Championships will take place from Mar. 13-18, 2018, at Salmon Arm Curling Centre. Eight teams of each gender will compete for the chance to represent BC at nationals in St. Andrews, New Brunswick.

Mission Granite Curling Club hosted an open playdown event this weekend (Jan. 26-28) which saw five U18 boys’ berths and three U18 girls’ berths awarded.

Team Tao, Team Kwok, Team Colwell, Team Habkirk and Team Kopytko were all successful at boys’ playdowns.

Team Tao, from Richmond, features four of the five curlers that qualified earlier this year for the 2018 Boston Pizza BC Junior Curling Championships. It features skip Johnson Tao, third Connor Deane, second David Loken, lead Michael Nunn and fifth Jay Hou. They are coached by Cody Tanaka.

Team Kwok, from Delta Thistle and Richmond curling clubs, features skip Gabriel Kwok, third David Hignell, second Brandon Tong, lead David Price, fifth Alex Luowan and coach Peter Kwok.

The Colwell team from Vernon and Salmon Arm curling clubs features skip Eric Colwell, third Ben Morin, second Adam Raber, lead Andrew Cowell, fifth Gray Simms and coach Dale Hofer.

Team Habkirk hails from Coquitlam Curling Centre and features skip Sean Habkirk, third Caleb Simpson, second Noah Shukyn, lead Jarrett  Dixon, fifth Martin Shen and coach Ken Krause.

Team Kopytko from Kamloops Curling Club features skip Mitchell Kopytko, third Colorado Marr, second Ryan Watson, lead Kieren O’Neil and coaches Brenda Nordin and Chad Kopytko.

In girls’ playdowns, Team Bowles, Team Royea and Team Taylor were successful. Team Bowles features the same lineup as the team that finished second overall during round robin play at the 2018 Boston Pizza BC Junior Curling Championships earlier this season. The team features Elizabeth Bowles, third Sarah McCrady, second Hailey Dubois, lead Grace McCusker and coach Kirsten Fox.

Team Royea also has some familiar names from the Junior event. The team from Langley features skip Everly Royea, third Ardis Mellor-Laing, second Tanis Short, lead Madeline Britz, fifth Kimberlee Bonneau and coach Marion McNeill.

Team Taylor from Royal City and Tunnel Town curling clubs features Jensen Taylor, Cole Meredith, Keira McCoy, Chelsea Taylor and coaches Brian Cole and Suzanne Malfair.


This weekend also saw fierce competition among the 50+ age group.

The final playdowns for the 2018 BC Senior Curling Championships also took place this weekend (Jan. 26-28) with competitions at Tunnel Town, Enderby, Grand Forks and Juan de Fuca curling clubs.

For the first time, the men’s and women’s provincials are being held separately, with the men playing at Duncan Curling Club and the women playing at Enderby Curling Club. The 2018  BC Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships will go ahead from Feb. 20-25, 2018.

The event in Enderby will be an 8-team round robin with a three-team playoff.

The event in Duncan will be a 10-team round robin with a three-team playoff.

In women’s play, Team Noble qualified at the Vancouver Island event. The team, featuring Lynne Noble, Penny Shantz, Colleen Robson and Karen Lepine, represent Cloverdale, Comox, Langley, Parksville and Qualicum curling clubs.

Team Jenkins from Salmon Arm and Team Anderson from Kelowna were also qualifiers. Team Anderson features skip Karen Anderson, third Susan Moran, second Janelle Cheyne, lead Janis Page and coach Gerry Richard. Team Jenkins features skip Sandra Jenkins, third Kate Horne, second Wendy Cseke, lead Carol Murray and coach Darryl Horne.

Four teams qualified during senior women’s playdowns at Tunnel Town Curling Club: Team Cowan, Team Jones, Team Roemer and Team Thompson.

Team Cowan from Royal City and Cloverdale curling clubs features skip Shiella Cowan, third Donna Langlands, second Crystal Murray, lead Victoria Murphy and coach Joanne Mick. Team Jones from Chilliwack and Hope curling clubs features skip Kelly Jones, third Debbie McKinney, second Rosalee Floyd, lead Pattie Desjardins and fifth Natalie Lowe. Team Roemer from Delta, Cloverdale and Tunnel Town curling clubs features skip Lynda Roemer, third Terri Walker, second Karen VanOs, lead Patti Mackintosh and coach Marion McNeill. Team Thompson from Richmond and Vancouver curling clubs features skip Yadranka Thompson, third Jane Graham-Smith, second Pat Upper and lead Sandy Tong.

The team that had previously qualified was Team Bullied from Terrace, featuring skip Lisa Bulleid, third Kathy Simpson, second Joan Kucharyshen and lead Nancy Ross.

In senior men’s play, Team Sutton and Team Craig qualified at Vancouver Island playdowns. Team Sutton, from Victoria Curling Club, features skip Denis Sutton, third Keith Kresse, second Jeff Burrell and lead Bob Coulombe. Team Craig from the Glen Harper Curling Centre at Duncan Curling Club features skip Wes Craig, third Gerald Poelman, second Tony Anslow, lead Victor Gamble and coach Roselyn Craig.

Team Mellof of Kelowna and Team Longworth of Vernon qualified at the Okanagan playdowns. Team Mellof features skip Dave Mellof, third Gary Brucker, second Shaun Everest and lead Keith Anderson. Team Longworth features skip Mark Longworth, third Dean Mackney, second Greg Hamilton and lead Ron McDougall.

At Kootenay playdowns, Team Nichol qualified for provincials. Team Nichol, of Castlegar, features skip Myron Nichol, third Bill vanYzerloo, second Garry Beaudry and lead Richard Faunt.

The Lower Mainland playdown at Tunnel Town Curling Club saw four men’s teams qualify for provincials: Team Sieg, Team Lepine, Team Macdonald and Team Wright.

Team Sieg from Langley features skip Lyle Sieg, third Fred Cleutinx, second Carl Lebreche and lead Kevin Jeannotte. Team Lepine from Cloverdale, Langley, Penticton and Vancouver features skip Craig Lepine, third Stan Walker, second Craig McLeod, lead Mike Pelech and coach Karen Lepine. Team Macdonald from Richmond and Peace Arch features skip Richard Brower, third Paul Dunkin, second Deryk Brower and lead Larry Macdonald. Team Wright from Kelowna, Royal City, Delta and Comox curling clubs features skip Steve Wright, third Ron Schmidt, second Brett Kury and lead Ernie Daniels.

The team that had previously qualified was Team Vanderstar from Smithers featuring skip Ron Vanderstar, third Trevor Sandberg, second Leonard Vanderstar and lead Greg Campbell.