(Original Caption) Portrait of Lester B. Pearson (1897-1972), Canadian politician.
The Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) is currently accepting nominations for the Lester B. Pearson Award, one of the highest honours in the Canadian lacrosse community. The deadline to submit a nomination is March 1, 2018.
The Lester B. Pearson Award, which has been handed out 21 times since its creation in 1973, is presented by the CLA to an individual in recognition of their unselfish dedication and outstanding contributions of sportsmanship and distinguished leadership to the game of lacrosse and to the physical and mental development of young Canadians.
Over the years, this prestigious award has been presented to some of our sports most distinguished volunteers, including legendary coach Jim Bishop (1977), women’s lacrosse pioneer Joanne Stanga (2002), long-time referee John Herd (2010), and former FIL president Stan Cockerton (2010). Ten previous Lester B. Pearson Award winners have also been enshrined in the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame.
The following are the minimum criteria for the Lester B. Pearson Award:
  • A long-term involvement of 10 years or more, at least 5 of which are at a national level, as a volunteer;
  • A significant contribution or enhancement or legacy to the game of lacrosse at the national and international level; and
  • Promoted a positive image and respect for the game of lacrosse.
Please consult the nomination form and guidelines below for additional information on the eligibility of nominees.
All nominations must be submitted by email to Alain Brouillette (alain@lacrosse.ca) prior to March 1, 2018 in order to be considered.
The winner will be presented with their award at the CLA’s semi-annual meeting in May 2018.