A field of 20 masters curling teams are preparing for the provincial championships – the largest field in the event’s history.

The curlers aged 60 and over will be taking part in the 2018 BC Masters Curling Championships, presented by the Hearing Loss Clinic. The event will go ahead at Creston Curling Club Mar. 6-11.

Six men’s teams were the latest to qualify to bring the existing field of 10 women’s teams and 4 men’s teams up to 20. The event in Creston will be two 10-team round robins with three-team playoffs.

Once the provincials at Creston Curling Club are complete, the winning teams will compete at the 2018 Coastland Engineering & Surveying Canadian Masters Curling Championships happening in Cloverdale and White Rock. The top two men’s teams and the top women’s team will qualify for nationals held at Cloverdale Curling Club and Peace Arch Curling Club, which will run from Apr. 1-8.

Six men’s teams were the latest to qualify at playdowns at Mission Granite Curling Club and Cowichan Rocks:

  • Team Boyce from Campbell River Curling Club, with skip Lyle Boyce, third John Lapointe, second Don Pennell and lead Tom Green.
  • Team Watson from Chilliwack Curling Club, with skip Ken Watson, third Dale Hockley, second Russ Knutsen and lead Victor Miller.
  • Team Moore from Royal City and Golden Ears Winter Club, with skip Garth Moore, third John Zwarych, second Fred Fox, lead Wayne Saito and fifth Art Poelen.
  • Team Lepine from Langley, Cloverdale, Royal City and Penticton, with skip Craig Lepine, third Neil Houston, second Craig McLeod, lead Kevin Jeannotte and coach Karen Lepine.
  • Team Dunkin from Vancouver and Royal City curling clubs, with skip Paul Dunkin, third Mickey Bishop, second David Amy and lead Alan Schmelzel.
  • Team Zbeetnoff from Peace Arch Curling Club with fourth Mike Kavanagh, skip Darrell Zbeetnoff, second Doug Boynton and lead Brad Vollans.

They join the roster that qualified earlier this season.

The 10 women’s teams are:

  • Team Lepine from Cloverdale/Langley/Port Alberni and Qualicum curling clubs, with skip Karen Lepine, third Lynne Noble, second Lorraine Jeffries, lead Agnes Sigurdson and coach Craig Lepine.
  • Team Fiedler from Cranbrook Curling Centre, with Joan Fiedler, Joy Walker, Christine Knight and Ria House.
  • Team Klebe from Chilliwack and Richmond curling clubs with skip Janet Klebe, third Kerri Miller, second Jane Adam, lead Laurie Shimizu and coach Vic Shimizu.
  • Team McFadden from Royal City Curling Club with skip Carol McFadden, third Mona Bassett, second Monica Hunter, and lead Heather Miller.
  • Team Sanders from Juan de Fuca and Kerry Park Curling Centres with skip Pat Sanders, third Lorraine Gagnon, second Sherry Findlay and lead Roselyn Craig.
  • Team Brunn from Cloverdale and Langley curling clubs with skip Linda Brunn, third Connie Stunden, second Donna Christian and  lead Ann Knopp.
  • Team Obee from Nanaimo Curling Centre with skip Marg Obee, third Noreen Martin, second Jill McGlenen and lead Moyra Graham.
  • Team Dufour from Comox Valley Curling Centre with skip Amber Dufour, third Mary Holden, second Denise Colburn and lead Elaine Starchuk.
  • Team Clark from Royal City/Marpole/Golden Ears/Cloverdale and Langley curling centres with skip Gwen Clark, third Pam Chow, second Sandy Fister and lead Susan Teleske.
  • Team Gardner from Royal City Curling Club with skip Isobel Gardner, third Margaret Dunn, second Diane Armstrong and lead Rita Araki.

The four men’s teams that qualified earlier in the season:

  • Team Koffski from Kelowna Curling Club with skip Rob Koffski, third Pat Ryan, second Gerry Richard, lead Randy Nelson and fifth Glen Brennan.
  • Team Beaudry from Nelson and Trail curling clubs with skip Garry Beaudry, third Brian LeMoel, second Harry Davidson and lead Richard Faunt.
  • Team King from Beaver Valley, Trail and Grand Forks curling clubs, with skip Bill King, third Don Bedard, second Al Bressanutti and lead Murray Walsh.
  • Team Kent from Cranbrook, Kimberley and Elkford curling clubs with skip Gerald Kent, third Ken McHargue, second Ivar Larson and lead Dennis Rounsville.