BCHL Awards winners-Alex Newhook of the Victoria Grizzlies Rookie of the Year


After a final round of voting by the league’s head coaches, we have the winners for this year’s BCHL awards.

With all voting now complete, the players claiming the hardware for the 2017-18 season are now known.

It was a poll of the league’s head coaches that led to the results.

The Wenatchee Wild will have to make room in the display case as they have three individuals picking up honours. It’s the second year in a row the Wild have had three winners.

In all, four teams had trophy winners. Unlike last year, the Goaltending Award was voted on this time. In the past, it simply went to the goalie with the lowest goals-against average and 1,000 minutes played.

Here are this year’s winners:

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy (MVP) – Jasper Weatherby, Wenatchee Wild

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year) – Alex Newhook, Victoria Grizzlies (unanimous)

Top Defenceman Trophy – Cooper Zech, Wenatchee Wild

Top Goaltender Award – Ty Taylor, Vernon Vipers

Bob Fenton Trophy (Most Sportsmanlike) – Ben Poisson, Prince George Spruce Kings

Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy (Coach of the Year) – Bliss Littler, Wenatchee Wild

Non-voting awards:

Brett Hull Trophy (Top scorer) – Jasper Weatherby, Wenatchee Wild (37-37-74)

Wally Forslund Trophy (Top goalie tandem) – Ty Taylor & Anthony Yamnitsky, Vernon Vipers (1.98 combined GAA)

Ron Boileau Memorial Trophy (Regular-season champions) – Penticton Vees (86 points)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!