Coming off a first-place finish in the 2017-18 regular season, Trinity Western’s men’s hockey team earned five of the six season-ending individual league awards and had four players named amongst the league’s all-stars.


The Spartans Dustin Deugau (Calgary) was named Top Defenceman, Silas Matthys (Wollerau, Switzerland) was named Top Goaltender, Brayden Brown (Calgary) was named Rookie of the Year, Florian Niedermaier (Davos, Switzerland) was named the Most Sportsmanlike Player and Barret Kropf was named the Coach of the Year.


The only individual honour TWU didn’t win was the Most Valuable Player award, which went to Eastern Washington’s Beau Walker.


Deugau, Matthys and fellow Spartan Evan Last (Surrey, B.C.) were named to the First All-Star Team, while Brown was named to the Second All-Star Team.


Recipients were selected in a vote conducted by BCIHL coaches.


The Spartans are preparing to host Selkirk in the BCIHL’s best-of-three championship series, starting Thursday at the George Preston Recreation Centre at 7:30 p.m.


TOP DEFENCEMAN – Dustin Deugau, Trinity Western University


The second-year blueliner made huge gains with the Spartans as a sophomore, leading all BCIHL defencemen with 21 assists and 24 points. He excelled as the quarterback on the TWU power-play where his 10 assists were third best amongst all skaters, and he recorded two goals and 10 assists during a seven-game point streak from 01/12-02/17. At the other end of the ice, the Calgary product helped lead a defence corps that allowed a league-low 55 goals.


TOP GOALTENDER – Silas Matthys, Trinity Western University


Matthys has done it all over a five-year BCIHL career and he saved some of his finest play for his final regular season. He led all BCIHL starters with a 2.27 goals-against average and .923 save-percentage while picking up 14 wins in 18 appearances. He allowed more than four goals in just one game all season and will graduate from TWU as a four-time BCIHL all-star who holds a number of league regular season records, including wins (51), minutes played (4783) and saves (2423).


ROOKIE OF THE YEAR – Brayden Brown, Trinity Western University


The former Edmonton Oil Kings forward was an immediate offensive hit for the Spartans, picking up eight points in his first eight BCIHL games. He continued that torrid pace through the end of the regular season, finishing fourth in the league in goals (15) and points (30). He trailed only linemate Evan Last for the BCIHL lead in even strength points with 24 and tied for top spot in game-winning goals with three. The Calgary native picked up his first BCIHL hat trick in a win over VIU on Nov. 25th.


MOST SPORTSMANLIKE PLAYER – Florian Niedermaier, Trinity Western University


A perennial nominee for this award, Niedermaier picks up his first win after a season in which he scored 13 goals and registered exactly zero penalty minutes. He was one of only a handful of BCIHL regulars to avoid the penalty box altogether this season, and the only one who appeared in all 25 games. He was also a key piece to the Spartans offence, finishing seventh in the league in goal scoring and 19th in points. Through four BCIHL seasons spanning 108 regular season and playoff games, the Swiss product has taken six minor penalties.


COACH OF THE YEAR – Barret Kropf, Trinity Western University


Kropf is now a three-time Coach of the Year award recipient following previous wins in 2014 and 2015. He led his Spartans to a first place finish via a program-best 21-3-0-1 record that eclipsed the BCIHL’s all-time high for points in a regular season with 43. TWU led the league in goals scored with 117 and in goals allowed with 55 and their last regulation loss came all the way back on November 10th. The Spartans rolled to a 16-0-0-1 record over their 17 remaining games.


MOST VALUABLE PLAYER – Beau Walker, Eastern Washington University


Walker capped his BCIHL career in style, leading the league in goals with 22 while finishing second in points with 36. He was held without a point on just four occasions all season and recorded three or more in a single game five times. His goals accounted for 42% of all those scored by the Eagles this season, and he accumulated points on a remarkable 69% of all his team’s scoring plays. His 64 career goals and 131 career points are both fourth highest in league history.




Forward: Dallas Calvin, Selkirk College

Forward: Evan Last, Trinity Western University

Forward: Beau Walker, Eastern Washington University

Defence: Dustin Deugau, Trinity Western University

Defence: Parker Wakaruk, Selkirk College

Goaltender: Silas Matthys, Trinity Western University




Forward: Brayden Brown, Trinity Western University

Forward: Gage Colpron, Vancouver Island University

Forward: Jack Palmer, University of Victoria

Defence: Mathew Berry-Lamontagna, Simon Fraser University

Defence: Ryan Coghlan, Vancouver Island University

Goaltender: Lyndon Stanwood, Simon Fraser University