The Victoria Royals’ 2017-18 regular season was acknowledged at the club’s seventh annual Awards Ceremony on Sunday afternoon at the Save-On-Foods Memorial Centre.


Cliff LeQuesne, from 100.3 The Q!, hosted the event that saw the organization hand out 10 awards in total and celebrate the personal achievements of the Royals’ players, both on and off the ice.


Captain Matthew Phillips was selected as the team’s most valuable player, and took home the Enex Fuels MVP award along with the Mayfair Optometric Top Scorer Award after he set the franchise record for most points in a season at 112 (48g-64a). The Calgary, AB native was also voted the Keg Fan’s Choice award winner.

Royals’ goaltender Griffen Outhouse was named the recipient of the 2 Burley Men Hardest Worker award. Outhouse finished the regular season with the second-best save percentage in the WHL at 0.914% and the third-most victories with 35.


Forward Dante Hannoun was named the winner of the Pepsi Unsung Hero award, while defenceman Mitchell Prowse received the Live Virtual Help Desk Scholastic Player of the Year award for the second consecutive season.


Blueliner Ralph Jarratt was named the winner of the Wilson’s Transportation Top Defenceman award and concluded the season with a +15 rating, the top among Royals’ blueliners.


Chaz Reddekopp was the recipient of the Great Clips Community Service award. Tanner Kaspick received the Wallace Driving School Most Dedicated Player award.


Igor Martynov, the 1999-born Belarusian import forward, took home the Elite Promotional Rookie of the Year award as he registered 43 points (18g-25a) in 63 contests this season.