Team Tanaka wins BC Mixed Championship


The 2018 AMJ Campbell Van Lines BC Mixed Curling Championship came to a close this Sunday, April 22, at the Richmond Curling Centre, with Team Tanaka claiming the championship title in the final draw.

The 2018 AMJ Campbell Van Lines BC Mixed Curling Championship featured teams of four players, two male and two female, playing with the traditional rules of curling in a nine-team triple knockout tournament.

Skip Brent Pierce’s Royal City Curling Club team of third Grace MacInnes, second Matthew McCrady and lead Megan Daniels (2018 BC Mixed Doubles champion), was the first team to qualify for the playoff round with a decisive 7-1 victory over Team Tanaka.

Skip Cody Tanaka’s Richmond Curling Centre and Tunnel Town Curling Club team of third Shawna Jensen, second Travis Cameron and lead Catera Park (2018 BC Juniors champion) became the second team to qualify for the playoff round with an 8-5 win over Team Horning.

The other two teams to qualify for the playoff round were Team De Jong (Victoria Curling Club) and Team Craig (Kerry Park and Nanaimo Curling Centres).

Led by coach Vic Shimizu, Team Tanaka faced Team Pierce once again in their first playoff game, this time with Team Tanaka winning 8-3 to secure their spot in the final game. Team Craig beat Team De Jong 9-5 to move on in the playoffs, but later fell 8-2 to Team Pierce, who would move on to the final game to face Team Tanaka once again.

Team Tanaka took the lead 3-0 in the second end of the final game, with Team Pierce getting on the board with a single point in the third end to make the score 3-1. Team Tanaka responded with two more points in the fourth end. Team Pierce secured their final two points in the sixth end, with Team Tanaka scoring a single in the seventh end to win the game 6-3 and claim the championship title.

Team Tanaka will go on to represent BC at the 2019 Canadian Mixed Curling Championship, which is taking place November 5 to 10, 2018, at the Fort Rouge Curling Club in Winnipeg, Manitoba.