Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Week Awards


BC Hockey announced Monday, April 23, 2018 the six (6) winners of the 2017 – 2018 Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Week Awards.  The awards recognize significant contributions made to hockey within BC and the Yukon by individuals who have gone beyond expectations.

The Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Week Award winners are:

Wesley Hart Burns Lake Minor Hockey Association
Michelle Hillaby Nelson Minor Hockey Association
Drew MacDonald Pacific Coast Amateur Hockey Association
Jodi and Mike Mastrodonato Powell River Minor Hockey Association
Terri Waller Nanaimo Clippers Junior A Hockey Club


Each winner(s) will be featured (one per day) on the BC Hockey website and social media channels this week, starting Monday.

Over 100 nominations were accepted during Minor Hockey Week.  A selection committee chose the five (5) winners based on the following criteria:

  • Has made significant contributions to minor hockey
  • Has enhanced hockey programs within their Association
  • Has made remarkable achievements
  • Has gone beyond expectations
  • Demonstrated the compassionate character that Fred Heslop brought to the game through his contributions to hockey

Fred Helsop’s involvement with BC Hockey spanned two (2) decades, serving the membership on the Executive Committee (now Board of Directors) from 1992 – 2006.  The Trail, BC native served in many different roles including Officer at Large, Vice President, President and was chair of numerous committees.  In 2007, BC Hockey awarded him the highest honour when he was presented with the Diamond Stick Award.  Fred passed away in 2013, leaving a legacy behind him.