Shepley tops CW CFL Prospect Rankings ahead of CFL Draft

75
Dakoda Shepley

UBC offensive lineman Dakoda Shepley is the top Canada West football prospect heading into Thursday’s Canadian Football League Draft, according to conference coaches.

 

Shepley was unveiled Monday as the top-ranked player on the annual Canada West CFL Prospect Rankings, which saw the top five names released in collaboration with 3 Down Nation. The rankings are voted on by coaches from the conference’s six football programs, and provide a glimpse into how the coaches view the top draft-eligible players from their competition.

 

A product of Windsor, Ont., Shepley helped UBC to a Hardy Cup and Vanier Cup in 2015, and was a CW all-star last season. Recently signed as an undrafted free agent by the New York Jets of the National Football League, Shepley received four first-place votes from coaches around the conference.

 

Securing the other two first-place votes in the rankings was Alberta offensive lineman Mark Korte, who was the Canada West Outstanding Lineman last season after helping the Golden Bears to a dominant rushing season. Korte, along with fellow linemen Justin Lawrence – who finished fifth in the rankings – anchored an Alberta line that allowed running back Ed Ilnicki to rush for a CW record 1,468 yards.

 

Also appearing in the top five were Calgary Dinos Darius Ciraco at No. 3 and Ryan Sceviour at No. 4. The offensive linemen helped Calgary to the Hardy Cup last season.

 

For more on the top five CW prospects, please visit 3 Down Nation. The complete 20-player CW CFL Prospect Rankings will be released Tuesday, May 1 on CanadaWest.org at 10 a.m. MT (9 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. CT).

 

The CFL Draft is set for Thursday, May 3 at 6 p.m. MT (5 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. CT) with two-hours of coverage on TSN, with the later rounds available on TSN.ca and TSN GO.

 

TOP FIVE CW CFL PROSPECTS

# / POS / NAME / SCHOOL / POINTS (first-place votes)

  1. / OL / Dakoda Shepley / UBC / 123 (4)
  2. / OL / Mark Korte / ALBERTA / 122 (2)
  3. / OL / Darius Ciraco / CALGARY / 114
  4. / OL / Ryan Sceviour / CALGARY / 107*
  5. / OL / Justin Lawrence / ALBERTA / 107

 

NOTES:

  • First-place vote worth 25 points, second-place 24 etc.
  • Higher ranking based on greater number of higher placed votes
  • Coaches rank all draft-eligible players excluding their own

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!