The pools and match schedule have been announced for the ninth round of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in Twickenham Stadium in London on 2-3 June.

As the race for HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series title continues there are only 37 points between the top four teams, with this year’s series proving to be the most competitive yet.

After a dramatic final at the HSBC Singapore Sevens where Fiji claimed their third-consecutive victory on the series, they also overtook South Africa to top the overall standings.

Gareth Baber’s side will be looking to continue their winning streak in Pool A when Fiji take on Argentina in their opening game of the day at 11:10, with last year’s HSBC London Sevens champions Scotland facing New Zealand in their tournament opener.

Spain take on Wales in their first game of Pool B at 10:14 with recent HSBC Singapore Sevens silver medalists Australia facing invitational side Ireland.

Pool C is set to be a replay from Singapore, again including England, Kenya, USA and France, while in Pool D Canada meet Samoa in the opening game of the tournament at 09:30, followed by South Africa who take on Russia.
World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “This year’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series has been one of the most competitive yet, in what has been an exciting year for sevens with the Commonwealth Games recently taking place, and sevens’ flagship event Rugby World Cup Sevens still to come in July in San Francisco.

“As teams enter into the penultimate round of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, we are looking forward to watching a spectacular display of fast-paced, high-octane rugby at Twickenham Stadium.”

Sat Jun 2 2018
Sun Jun 3 2018