Ottawa Fury FC take the lead in 2018 Canadian Championship Second Qualifying Round


Tony Taylor’s goal in the first minute of the opening leg of the Second Qualifying Round of the 2018 Canadian Championship sends Ottawa Fury FC home up 1:0 against AS Blainville.

The Première ligue de soccer du Québec champions AS Blainville, who defeated Oakville Blue Devils 3:1 in the First Qualifying Round, started nine Canadians in the match. However, it was Canadian Fury FC goalkeeper Maxime Crépeau who rose to the occasion making a number of saves including one late in the match to send Ottawa, who started eight Canadians, home with the away goal in the two-legged series.

The second leg kicks off at 19.30 ET 27 June from TD Place in Ottawa, with the winner advancing to face 2017 Canadian Championship winners Toronto FC in the Semi-Final Round.

Montréal will host Vancouver Whitecaps FC to open the other Semi-final. Both games kick off at 19.30 local on Wednesday 18 July with the second legs scheduled one week later on 25 July.

2017 Canadian Championship winners Toronto FC became the second Canadian Championship winner in four years to make it to the Concacaf Champions League Final in 2018. In 2014-15, Montréal Impact made it through to the Grand Final with the last match the highest-attended in-stadia sporting event in Canada that year.

The Voyageurs Cup will be presented to the winners of the Canadian Championhsip on 15 August along with the George Gross Memorial Trophy to the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

2018 Canadian Championship Schedule (home team listed first)

1QR – First Qualifying Round

2018-06-06 – AS Blainville 2:1 Oakville Blue Devils
2018-06-13 – Oakville Blue Devils 0:1 AS Blainville

2QR – Second Qualifying Round

2018-06-20 – AS Blainville 0:1 Ottawa Fury FC
2018-06-27 – Ottawa Fury FC v AS Blainville – 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT

SF – Semi-Final Round

2018-07-18 – 2QR (Winner/Gagnant) v Toronto FC – 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT
2018-07-18 – Impact de Montréal v Vancouver Whitecaps FC – 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT
2018-07-25 – Toronto FC v 2QR (Winner/Gagnant) – 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT
2018-07-25 – Vancouver Whitecaps FC v Impact de Montréal – 22.00 ET / 19.00 PT

Final Round
2018-08-08 – SF (Winner/Gagnant) v SF (Winner/Gagnant)
2018-08-15 – SF (Winner/Gagnant) v SF (Winner/Gagnant)