Canadian hockey was front and centre this past weekend in Dallas, Texas, with 73 prospects selected at the 2018 NHL Entry Draft.

The 71 players born in Canada were the most of any country, 16 ahead of the second-place United States.

Barrett Hayton was the first of 10 Canadians off the board in the first round, taken fifth overall by the Arizona Coyotes. The Peterborough, Ont., native played for Canada White at the 2016 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, and helped Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team to gold at the 2017 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup.

Some of the draftees are also alumni of Hockey Canada’s national events. Among them, four members of the gold medal-winning Canada West entry from the 2017 World Junior A Challenge – Jacob Bernard-Docker (26th to Ottawa), Jonny Tychonick (48th to Ottawa), Seth Barton (81st to Detroit) and Angus Crookshank (126th to Ottawa) – heard their names called.

Ten of 13 Hockey Canada members were represented, led by 30 selections from the Ontario Hockey Federation.


Ontario Hockey Federation (30) – Kevin Bahl, Evan Bouchard, Dennis Busby, Declan Chisholm, Kody Clark, Connor Corcoran, Riley Damiani, Ty Dellandrea, Curtis Douglas, Hunter Drew, Aidan Dudas, Sean Durzi, Liam Foudy, Damien Giroux, Barrett Hayton, Cameron Hillis, Mitchell Hoelscher, Mac Hollowell, Jacob Ingham, Jordan Kooy, Adam Mascherin, Jack McBain, Dustyn McFaul, Ryan McLeod, Allan McShane, Ryan Merkley, Serron Noel, Jakov Novak, Brandon Saigeon, Akil Thomas

Hockey Quebec (14) – Nicolas Beaudin, Xavier Bernard, Xavier Bouchard, Shawn Boudrias, Zachary Bouthillier, Zacharie Émond, Gabriel Fortier, Alexis Gravel, Benoît-Olivier Groulx, Samuel Houde, Mathias Laferrière, Kevin Mandolese, Olivier Rodrigue, Joe Veleno

Hockey Manitoba (8) – Calen Addison, Dawson Barteaux, Connor Dewar, Joel Hofer, Jermaine Loewen, Riley Stotts, Matthew Thiessen, Jett Woo

Hockey Alberta (7) – Jacob Bernard-Docker, Trey Fix-Wolansky, Eric Florchuk, Ty Smith, Riley Sutter, Jonny Tychonick, Austin Wong

B.C. Hockey (6) – Justin Almeida, Seth Barton, Angus Crookshank, Brett Stapley, Ty Taylor, David Tendeck

Hockey Nova Scotia (3) – Peter Diliberatore, Luke Henman, Jared McIsaac

Saskatchewan Hockey Association (2) – Cole Fonstad, Alex Kannok-Leipert

Hockey Eastern Ontario (1) – Giovanni Vallati

Hockey Northwestern Ontario (1) – Tyler Tucker

Hockey P.E.I. (1) – Noah Dobson

Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence was well represented, with 41 alumni hearing their names called. The Program of Excellence includes the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, Hlinka Gretzky Cup, IIHF U18 World Championship and IIHF World Junior Championship.

Included in that list are two players who helped Canada White to a gold medal at the 2015 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, the first for a Canadian team in the national team format, and 10 who won silver with Canada Black in 2016.


2018 National Men’s Under-18 Team
Kevin Bahl, Ty Dellandrea, Aidan Dudas, Cole Fonstad, Liam Foudy, Cameron Hillis, Kevin Mandolese, Jack McBain, Jared McIsaac, Allan McShane, Ryan Merkley, Serron Noel, Olivier Rodrigue, Ty Smith, Akil Thomas, Jonny Tychonick, Joe Veleno

2017 National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team
Calen Addison, Kevin Bahl, Ty Dellandrea, Noah Dobson, Aidan Dudas, Gabriel Fortier, Alexis Gravel, Benoît-Olivier Groulx, Barrett Hayton, Jack McBain, Jared McIsaac, Ryan Merkley, Serron Noel, Olivier Rodrigue, Ty Smith, Akil Thomas, Joe Veleno, Jett Woo

2017 National Men’s Under-18 Team
Ty Dellandrea, Alexis Gravel, Jared McIsaac, Ty Smith, Akil Thomas, Jett Woo

2016 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge
Calen Addison (CAN Black), Kevin Bahl (CAN Red), Dawson Barteaux (CAN Red), Xavier Bernard (CAN Red), Xavier Bouchard (CAN White), Dennis Busby (CAN White), Declan Chisholm (CAN Black), Connor Corcoran (CAN Black), Riley Damiani (CAN Red), Ty Dellandrea (CAN Red), Noah Dobson (CAN Red), Aidan Dudas (CAN Black), Eric Florchuk (CAN Black), Liam Foudy (CAN White), Benoît-Olivier Groulx (CAN Red), Barrett Hayton (CAN Red), Cameron Hillis (CAN Red), Samuel Houde (CAN White), Jacob Ingham (CAN Black), Kevin Mandolese (CAN Red), Jack McBain (CAN Black), Jared McIsaac (CAN White), Allan McShane (CAN Black), Ryan Merkley (CAN Red), Serron Noel (CAN Red), Olivier Rodrigue (CAN White), Ty Smith (CAN Black), Riley Stotts (CAN Red), Akil Thomas (CAN White), Jonny Tychonick (CAN White), Giovanni Vallati (CAN Black), Jett Woo (CAN White)

2016 National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team
Evan Bouchard, Ryan McLeod, Joe Veleno

2015 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge
Evan Bouchard (CAN White), Shawn Boudrias (CAN Red), Ryan McLeod (CAN White), Joe Veleno (CAN Black)

2014 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge
Adam Mascherin (CAN Red), Brandon Saigeon (CAN Black)