VICTORIA – Rowing Canada Aviron (RCA) has announced crew selections for FISA World Rowing Cup 3, set to take place in Lucerne, Switzerland from July 13 – 15, 2018. This event is the second international competition of the 2018 season for Canada’s senior athletes, which includes a combination of World Cup 1 medallists and crews making their debut at the World Rowing Cup series. Nine crews have been selected to represent Canada from the 2018 Speed Orders – National Team Selection trials held in London Ontario from June 22 – 28, 2018.

In total, three current members and three alumni of the University of Victoria Vikes men’s and women’s rowing programs will make the journey to Switzerland after earning their place through the tough trials that took place in London.

After donning the red and white of Canada at Wold Cup 1 in Belgrade, Serbia from June 1-3, both Caileigh Filmer and Patrick Keane have once again made the cut to represent Canada.

Those two rowers combined to capture seven gold and one silver medal at the Western Canadian and Canadian University National Championship regattas en route to being named the female and male UVic Athletes of the Year in 2017-18.

After a tremendous showing at Speed Orders, second-year Vike Avalon Wasteneys will make her Senior Canadian National Team debut at World Cup 3. Wasteneys, who has burst onto the rowing scene after beginning her athletic career as a cross-country skier was recently in Pyeongchang as the BC Champion of RBC Training Ground.

A trio of alumni will also be representing Canada, including 2016 Rio Olympian Kai Langerfeld, 2017 World Champion silver medallist Becca Zimmerman and long-time coxswain of the Vike men’s rowing program Jane Gumley.

“I am very pleased to see the caliber of the 9 Canadian crews selected to represent Rowing Canada Aviron,” remarked RCA High Performance Director, Iain Brambell. “These athletes have undergone a very challenging and intense selection process and have emerged across a broad spectrum of events. There is an excitement growing within the Canadian Team and I look forward to seeing this energy harnessed during the final World Cup in Lucerne.”

The women’s coxless pair remains unchanged since their Gold medal performance at World Cup 1. Hillary Janssens and Filmer will be looking to continue their strong start to the season with another podium finish in Lucerne.

The women’s eight will make their season debut with six rowers returning from the 2017 World Championship silver medal boat. Zimmerman, Christine Roper, Susanne Grainger, Nicole Hare, Lisa Roman and coxswain Kirsten Kit will reunite and be joined by Wasteneys, Sydney Payne and Karen Lefsrud.

Keane and Maxwell Lattimer reunite in the lightweight men’s double sculls after a good start to their season finishing fourth-place at the 2018 World Cup 1 in Belgrade.

Matt Buie moves from the single sculls at World Cup 1 to join forces in the men’s eight with Benjamin de Wit, Jakub Buczek, Langerfeld, David De Groot, Martin Barakso, Cody Bailey, Mackenzie Copp and coxswain Gumley.

Over 150 athletes participated in this year’s selection process, competing in pairs and singles at Speed Order Trials for a spot at the selection camp held from June 25th-28th in London, Ontario.

Women’s crews will be led by Women’s Head Coach Dave Thompson and supported by coaches Michelle Darvill and Phil Marshall. Men’s crews and the Women’s Single Sculls will be supported by Men’s Head Coach Dick Tonks and Jeremy Ivey.

Over 600 rowers from 37 nations will be competing across 18 boat classes in Lucerne.

Racing begins on Friday 13 July at 9:30 CET with International followed by Olympic boat classes. Racing then progresses through repechages and semifinals to the finals which will be raced over two days – Saturday 14 and Sunday 15 July 2018.

Team Canada Roster – World Cup 3, Lucerne
Women’s Single Scull
Carling Zeeman          Sudbury Rowing Club

Women’s Coxless Pairs
Hillary Janssens          University of British Columbia
Caileigh Filmer            University of Victoria

Women’s Lightweight Double Scull
Jill Moffatt                    University of Western Ontario
Jennifer Casson          Kingston Rowing Club
Ellen Gleadow             Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
Katherine Haber          Hanlan Boat Club

Women’s Eight
Rebecca Zimmerman  University of Victoria
Christine Roper           Ottawa Rowing Club
Susanne Grainger       London Rowing Club
Nicole Hare                 Calgary Rowing Club
Lisa Roman                 Middlesex-Western Rowing Club
Avalon Wasteneys      University of Victoria
Sydney Payne             Brentwood College Rowing Club
Karen Lefsrud              Calgary Rowing Club
Kristen Kit (coxswain)  St.Catharines Rowing Club

Women’s Four
Jennifer Martins                      University of Western Ontario
Jessie Loutit                            Calgary Rowing Club
Colleen Nesbitt                       University of Calgary
Kasia Gruchalla-Wesierski      Calgary Rowing Club

Women’s Double Scull
Andrea Proske            Victoria City Rowing Club
Gabrielle Smith           Knowlton Rowing Club

Men’s Eight
Matt Buie                    St. Catharines Rowing Club
Mackenzie Copp          Western Rowing Club
David de Groot            Brock University
Kai Langerfeld             University of Victoria
Benjamin de Wit         University of British Columbia
Jakub Buczek               Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
Martin Barakso           Brentwood College Rowing Club
Cody Bailey                 Mic Mac Amateur Aquatic Club
Jane Gumley (coxswain) University of Victoria

Men’s Lightweight Double Scull
Patrick Keane              University of Victoria
Maxwell Lattimer        University of British Columbia