Marks the 10th time in Mariners franchise history to have at least 3 players selected to the AL All-Star team


SEATTLE, Wash. – DH Nelson Cruz, RHP Edwin Díaz and OF Mitch Haniger of the Seattle Mariners have been selected to play for the American League. 2018 marks the 89th annual, League Baseball All-Star Game on Tuesday, July 17 at Nationals Park in Washington, District of Columbia.


The 2018 American League and National League All-Star starters were announced earlier this evening during the “All-Star Game Selection Show presented by Camping World” on ESPN.


Cruz, 38, has earned his 6th career All-Star selection and his 5th in the last 6 seasons (also: 2009, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017). He ranks among the top-10 American League leaders in home runs (T6th), slugging (8th) and OPS (10th). Cruz is batting .267  up from last year, with 39 runs scored, 10 doubles, 1 triple, 22 home runs, 53 RBI, 10 HBP, 31 walks, a .361 on-base percentage and a .549 slugging percentage (.909 On base Plus Slugging) in 76 games. Among AL leaders, he ranks T6th in home runs, 8th in slugging percentage and 10th in OPS.


Díaz, 24, leads the Major Leagues in saves while also ranking 2nd among all relievers in strikeouts (Josh Hader-MIL, 83). He is 35-for-38 (92.1%) in save opportunities with a 2.30 ERA (12 ER, 47.0 IP) with 78 strikeouts and 13 walks in 47 relief appearances. The 6-foot-3, 165-pound right-hander is averaging 14.94 strikeouts-per-9.0-innings (78 K, 47.0 IP) while limiting opposing batters to a .155 (25×161) average against with a 0.81 WHIP (13 BB, 25 H, 47.0 IP). Among American League relievers, Díaz is 1st in strikeouts, 3rd in K/9.0 IP, 4th in WHIP and 6th in opponents average against. The Mariners are 43-0 when Díaz enters a game with a lead this season, including 22-0 when he enters with a 1-run lead. Of his 35 saves, 20 have come in 1-run games, most in the Majors this season. Díaz is the 2nd pitcher in Major League history with at least 30 saves and 70 strikeouts prior to the All-Star Break, joining Eric Gagne-LAD in 2003 (31 SV, 76 K). Díaz’s 35 saves rank 2nd-most all-time prior to the All-Star Break, behind Francisco Rodriguez in 2008 with the Angels (38). This is Díaz’s first career All-Star selection.


Haniger, 27, is one of 10 players in the Major Leagues with at least 60 RBI so far this season. The 6-foot-2, 210-pound outfielder is batting .271 (88×325) with 45 runs scored, 16 doubles, 2 triples, 17 home runs, 62 RBI, 42 walks, a .357 on-base percentage and a .489 slugging percentage (.847 OPS) in 88 games. Among American League leaders, he ranks T2nd in RBI, 9th in walks, T16th in home runs and T15th in OPS. He leads the Majors with 13 game-winning RBI and with 11 home runs in the 7th inning and later. This is Haniger’s first career All-Star selection.


The 2018 All-Star Game will be played at Nationals Park on Tuesday, July 17 at 8:00 pm ET/5:00 pm PT. The 89th annual Midsummer Classic will be televised nationally by FOX Sports; in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS; and worldwide by partners in more than 160 countries. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide exclusive national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network, and Sirius XM also will provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit


(All rankings thru games of 7/7.)



1977 1 Ruppert Jones, OF

1978 1 Craig Reynolds, SS

1979 1 Bruce Bochte, 1B

1980 1 Rick Honeycutt, LHP

1981 1 Tom Paciorek, OF

1982 1 Floyd Bannister, LHP

1983 1 Matt Young, LHP

1984 1 Alvin Davis, 1B

1985 1 Phil Bradley, OF

1986 1 Jim Presley, 3B

1987 2 Mark Langston, LHP; Harold Reynolds, 2B

1988 1 Harold Reynolds, 2B

1989 1 Jeffrey Leonard, OF

1990 2 Ken Griffey Jr.*, OF; Randy Johnson, LHP

1991 2 Ken Griffey Jr.*, OF

1992 2 Ken Griffey Jr.*, OF (MVP); Edgar Martinez, 3B

1993 2 Ken Griffey Jr.*, OF; Randy Johnson, LHP

1994 2 Ken Griffey Jr.*, OF; Randy Johnson, LHP

1995 4 Ken Griffey Jr., OF; Randy Johnson*, LHP; Edgar Martinez*, DH; Tino Martinez, 1B

1996 5 Jay Buhner, OF; Ken Griffey Jr., OF; Edgar Martinez, DH; Alex Rodriguez, SS; Dan Wilson, C

1997 5 Joey Cora, 2B; Ken Griffey Jr.*, OF; Randy Johnson*, LHP; Edgar Martinez*, DH; Alex Rodriguez*, SS

1998 2 Ken Griffey Jr.*, OF; Alex Rodriguez*, SS

1999 1 Ken Griffey Jr.*, OF

2000 3 Edgar Martinez, DH; Alex Rodriguez, SS; Aaron Sele, RHP (Lou Piniella, coach)

2001 8 Bret Boone*, 2B; Mike Cameron, OF; John Olerud*, 1B; Edgar Martinez*, DH; Ichiro Suzuki*, OF; Freddy Garcia, RHP; Jeff Nelson, RHP;      Kazuhiro Sasaki, RHP (Lou Piniella, coach)

2002 3 Ichiro Suzuki*, OF; Freddy Garcia, RHP; Kazuhiro Sasaki, RHP

2003 5 Ichiro Suzuki*, OF; Edgar Martinez*, DH; Jamie Moyer, LHP; Shigetoshi Hasegawa, RHP; Bret Boone, 2B

2004 1 Ichiro Suzuki*, OF

2005 1 Ichiro Suzuki, OF

2006 2 Ichiro Suzuki*, OF; Jose Lopez, 2B

2007 2 Ichiro Suzuki*, OF (MVP); J.J. Putz, RHP

2008 1 Ichiro Suzuki*, OF

2009 2 Ichiro Suzuki*, OF; Felix Hernandez, RHP

2010 1 Ichiro Suzuki*, OF

2011 3 Felix Hernandez, RHP; Michael Pineda, RHP; Brandon League, RHP

2012 1 Felix Hernandez, RHP

2013 2 Felix Hernandez, RHP; Hisashi Iwakuma, RHP

2014 2 Felix Hernandez, RHP; Robinson Canó, 2B

2015 1 Nelson Cruz*, OF

2016 1 Robinson Canó, 2B

2017 1 Nelson Cruz, DH

2018 3 Nelson Cruz, DH; Edwin Díaz, RHP; Mitch Haniger, OF


Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!