Toronto, ON, CANCanada Soccer by Martin BazylJonathan Osorio

The 2018 Canadian Championship Semi-Final Round kicked off in Ottawa and Montréal 18 July with a pair of 1:0 score lines. Canadian MLS teams Toronto FC, Montréal Impact FC and Vancouver Whitecaps joined the competition which is the Canadian pathway to the Concacaf Champions League. The teams joined Ottawa Fury FC who were the Qualifying Round winners.

Canadian International Jonathan Osorio secured an away goal and the 1:0 victory for 2017 Canadian Championship winners Toronto FC over Ottawa Fury FC at TD Place in Ottawa.

Canadian Ryan Telfer provided the set up for Toronto FC’s 5’ goal fighting to keep the ball in bounds and pulling it back for Osorio. Clint Irwin earned the clean sheet for Toronto FC.

“It was crucial that we went up early. Ryan did a good job to get out of the corner and find me,” said Osorio who had a tremendous 2018 Concacaf Champions League run with 2017 Canadian Championship winners Toronto FC. “The job is not done, we have to finish things off next week.”

Canadian Content rules stipulate three starters from each team must be Canadians. In Ottawa, 13 Canadians earned their place in the starting 11 between Ottawa Fury and Toronto FC.

“It’s always nice to give our young Canadians an opportunity, especially in this competition,” said Toronto FC Head Coach Greg Vanney who started six Canadians.

Meanwhile, at Stade Saputo in Montréal, Montréal Impact FC secured a 1:0 victory over Vancouver Whitecaps FC in the other first leg through an Alejandro Silva goal.

“We’re disappointed we gave the goal away, disappointed we didn’t get the away goal,” said Whitecaps Head Coach Carl Robinson. “We want to take this tournament seriously and we want to win it.”

Vancouver’s Cristian Techera hit the post in the first half while Montréal’s Anthony Jackson-Hamel hit the post in the first half and crossbar in the second half.

In both matches, all four captains were Canadian, with Jamar Dixon and Jonathan Osorio wearing the armbands in Ottawa and Samuel Piette and Russell Teibert wearing the armbands in Montréal.

The second leg of each matchup goes 25 July LIVE on with Toronto FC hosting Ottawa Fury FC at BMO Field kicking off at 19:30 ET. BC Place plays host to the Vancouver Whitecaps FC v Impact Montréal FC with kickoff set for 22:00 ET.

2018 Canadian Championship Schedule (home team listed first)

1QR – First Qualifying Round

2018-06-06 – AS Blainville 2:1 Oakville Blue Devils
2018-06-13 – Oakville Blue Devils 0:1 AS Blainville

2QR – Second Qualifying Round

2018-06-20 – AS Blainville 0:1 Ottawa Fury FC
2018-06-27 – Ottawa Fury FC 1:0 AS Blainville – 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT

SF – Semi-Final Round

2018-07-18 – Ottawa Fury FC 0:1 Toronto FC
2018-07-18 – Impact de Montréal 1:0 Vancouver Whitecaps FC
2018-07-25 – Toronto FC v Ottawa Fury FC – 19.30 ET / 16.30 PT
2018-07-25 – Vancouver Whitecaps FC v Impact de Montréal – 22.00 ET / 19.00 PT

Final Round
2018-08-08 – SF (Winner/Gagnant) v SF (Winner/Gagnant)
2018-08-15 – SF (Winner/Gagnant) v SF (Winner/Gagnant)