Four returning student-athletes headline Team Canada at 2018 World University Rowing Championship


    Hunter Amesbury, D’Arcy Arends, Marilyse Dubois and Alanna Fogarty headline the Canadian roster for the 2018 World University Rowing Championship set to begin Friday.

    Amesbury, Arends, Dubois and Fogarty, who all competed at the 2016 event, are four of the 17 student-athletes named to the team on Wednesday.

    Arends, a clinical trials management student, helped guide Western’s women’s team to their fifth straight Canadian University Rowing Championship last November.

    On the men’s side, a pair Victoria Vikes teammates, Tyler Adams and Eric Arscott, will make up half of the men’s four. Adams, along with Vikes head coach Aalbert Van Schothorst, recently competed in the World U23 Rowing Championships in Poznan, Poland.

    Van Schothorst will serve as one of three Team Canada officials alongside former Vikes head coach Richard Crawley and Mark Williams of the Toronto Varsity Blues.

    Canada won a pair of bronze medals at 2016 World University Championship, highlighted by a third-place finish by Fogarty in the lightweight double sculls.

    The 2018 World University Rowing Championship will be held in Shanghai, China from Aug. 10-12.


    First Name Last Name University Hometown Program Event
    Myriam Okuda-Rayfuse McMaster Ottawa, Ont. Nursing Lightweight women’s double
    Hunter Amesbury* Carleton Burlington, Ont. Commerce Men’s four
    Alanna Fogarty* Drexel Ottawa, Ont. Epidemiology Lightweight women’s double
    Marilyse Dubois* Western Laval, Que. Psychology Women’s eight
    Mikayla Arends Carleton Barrie, Ont. Criminology & Criminal Justice Women’s eight
    Tina Yu UBC Victoria, B.C. Master of Management Coxswain
    Claire-Anne Brillon UBC Montreal, Que. Cognitive systems & voice Women’s eight
    Courtney Kruschel Calgary Calgary, Alta. Science Women’s eight
    Kristina Walker UBC Wolf Island, Ont. Marketing Women’s double
    D’Arcy Arends* Western Utopia, Ont. Clinical Trial Management Women’s eight
    Savannah Sami-Bacon UBC Calgary, Alta. Chemistry Women’s eight
    Cassidy Deane Queen’s Whistler, B.C. Physical & Health Ed. Women’s eight
    Eric Arscott Victoria Buckhorn, Ont. Geomatics Men’s four
    Ryan Clegg Western Newmarket, Ont. Kinesiology Men’s four
    Yara Ensminger Western Oakville, Ont. Engineering Women’s double
    Lucy Vincent-Smith UBC Iverness, N.S. Chemical Engineering Women’s eight
    Tyler Adams Victoria Victoria, B.C. Sociology Men’s four

    Team Officials:

    Aalbert Van Schothorst, Victoria

    Mark Williams, Toronto

    Richard Crawley, Victoria*


    * Returning from the 2016 World University Championship