The Kelowna Rockets and the Western Hockey League are proud to announce that 16 former Rockets players were included in the 131 WHL Alumni that have been named among National Hockey League opening day rosters to start the 2018-19 season.

All 31 NHL teams boast at least one WHL Alumni, with the Edmonton Oilers holding the largest number of WHL graduates on opening night with eight players listed. The Calgary Flames, Montreal Canadiens, New York Islanders, Philadelphia Flyers and Winnipeg Jets all include seven previous WHL players each while the Vegas Golden Knights and the Vancouver Canucks start the season with six WHL graduates.

The Portland Winterhawks take the title this season, providing the most WHL Alumni to NHL opening night rosters with 18 players. Next behind Portland in supplying WHL graduates to NHL opening night rosters is the Kelowna Rockets (15), Brandon Wheat Kings (11), Calgary Hitmen (10), Red Deer Rebels (10) and Moose Jaw Warriors (nine).

Of the 131 number of WHL Alumni on NHL opening day rosters, two are currently on the injured reserve lists for their respective NHL Clubs.

Listed below are the WHL Alumni who are on NHL opening day rosters for the 2018-19 season:

Anaheim Ducks (3):
Ryan Getzlaf, C — Calgary Hitmen
Sam Steel, C — Regina Pats
Luke Schenn, D — Kelowna Rockets

Arizona Coyotes (2):
Michael Grabner, RW — Spokane Chiefs
Darcy Kuemper, G — Spokane Chiefs/Red Deer Rebels

Boston Bruins (3):
Jake DeBrusk, LW – Swift Current Broncos/Red Deer Rebels
Brandon Carlo, D – Tri-City Americans
Zdeno Chara, D – Prince George Cougars

Buffalo Sabres (1):
Sam Reinhart, C/RW, Kootenay ICE

Calgary Flames (7):
Mikael Backlund, C — Kelowna Rockets
Dillon Dube, C/RW — Kelowna Rockets
Curtis Lazar, C — Edmonton Oil Kings
Derek Ryan, C/RW — Spokane Chiefs
Travis Hamonic, D — Moose Jaw Warriors/Brandon Wheat Kings
Michael Stone, D — Calgary Hitmen
Juuso Valimaki, D — Tri-City Americans

Carolina Hurricanes (4):
Micheal Ferland, LW – Brandon Wheat Kings/ Saskatoon Blades
Jordan Martinook, LW – Vancouver Giants
Victor Rask, C – Calgary Hitmen
Haydn Fleury, D – Red Deer Rebels

Chicago Blackhawks (6):
Brandon Davidson, D – Regina Pats
Henri Jokiharju, D – Portland Winterhawks
Brandon Manning, D – Chilliwack Bruins
Duncan Keith, D  – Kelowna Rockets
Brent Seabrook, D – Lethbridge Hurricanes
Cam Ward, G – Red Deer Rebels

Colorado Avalanche (2):
Matt Calvert, LW- Brandon Wheat Kings
Tyson Barrie, D – Kelowna Rockets

Columbus Blue Jackets (3):
Oliver Bjorkstrand, RW/LW – Portland Winterhawks
Brandon Dubinsky, C/LW – Portland Winterhawks
*Seth Jones, D – Portland Winterhawks

Dallas Stars (5):
Jamie Benn, LW — Kelowna Rockets
Blake Comeau, LW/RW — Kelowna Rockets
Julius Honka, D — Swift Current Broncos
Roman Polak, D — Kootenay ICE
Anton Khudobin, G — Saskatoon Blades

Detroit Red Wings (3):
Darren Helm, C/LW – Medicine Hat Tigers
Michael Rasmussen, C – Tri-City Americans
Mike Green, D – Saskatoon Blades

Edmonton Oilers (8):
Kyle Brodziak, C – Moose Jaw Warriors
Leon Draisaitl, C – Prince Albert Raiders/ Kelowna Rockets
Jujhar Khaira, LW – Everett Silvertips
Milan Lucic, LW – Vancouver Giants
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, C – Red Deer Rebels
Ty Rattie, RW – Portland Winterhawks
Kailer Yamamoto, RW – Spokane Chiefs
Kris Russell, D – Medicine Hat Tigers

Florida Panthers (5):
Troy Brouwer, RW/LW – Moose Jaw Warriors
Colton Sceviour, C – Portland Winterhawks/ Lethbridge Hurricanes
Alexander Petrovic, D – Red Deer Rebels
Mark Pysyk, D – Edmonton Oil Kings
James Reimer, G – Red Deer Rebels

Los Angeles Kings (4):
Jaret Anderson-Dolan, C — Spokane Chiefs
Nate Thompson, C/LW — Seattle Thunderbirds
Dion Phaneuf, D — Red Deer Rebels
Austin Wagner, LW — Regina Pats

Minnesota Wild (5):
Eric Fehr, C/RW — Brandon Wheat Kings
Nino Niederreiter, RW/LW — Portland Winterhawks
Matt Dumba, D — Red Deer Rebels/Portland Winterhawks
Jared Spurgeon, D — Spokane Chiefs
Devan Dubnyk, G — Kamloops Blazers

Montreal Canadiens (7):
Brendan Gallagher, RW – Vancouver Giants
Nikita Scherbak, RW/LW – Saskatoon Blades/ Everett Silvertips
Karl Alzner, D – Calgary Hitmen
Noah Juulsen, D – Everett Silvertips
David Schlemko, D – Medicine Hat Tigers
Shea Weber, D – Kelowna Rockets
Carey Price, G – Tri-City Americans

Nashville Predators (3):
Ryan Johansen, C — Portland Winterhawks
Colton Sissons, C —Kelowna Rockets
Dan Hamhuis, D, Prince George Cougars

New Jersey Devils (2):
Mirco Muller, D – Everett Silvertips
Damon Severson, D – Kelowna Rockets

New York Islanders (7):
Mathew Barzal, C – Seattle Thunderbirds
Jordan Eberle, RW – Regina Pats
Andrew Ladd, LW – Vancouver Giants/ Calgary Hitmen
Johnny Boychuk, D – Calgary Hitmen/ Moose Jaw Warriors
Thomas Hickey, D – Seattle Thunderbirds
Ryan Pulock, D – Brandon Wheat Kings
Luca Sbisa, D – Lethbridge Hurricanes/ Portland Winterhawks

New York Rangers (2):
Brett Howden, C – Moose Jaw Warriors
Cody McLeod, LW – Portland Winterhawks

Ottawa Senators (3):
Zack Smith, LW/C – Swift Current Broncos
Mark Stone, RW – Brandon Wheat Kings
Maxime Lajoie, D – Swift Current Broncos

Philadelphia Flyers (7):
Taylor Leier, LW – Portland Winterhawks
Nolan Patrick, C – Brandon Wheat Kings
Jordan Weal, C/W – Regina Pats
Dale Weise, RW – Swift Current Broncos
Radko Gudas, D – Everett Silvertips
Ivan Provorov, D – Brandon Wheat Kings
Travis Sanheim, D – Calgary Hitmen

Pittsburgh Penguins (1):
Tristan Jarry, G – Edmonton Oil Kings

San Jose Sharks (4):
Rourke Chartier, C – Kelowna Rockets
Evander Kane, LW – Vancouver Giants
Brenden Dillon, D – Seattle Thunderbirds
Martin Jones, G – Calgary Hitmen

St. Louis Blues (3):
Brayden Schenn, C — Brandon Wheat Kings
Jay Bouwmeester, D —Medicine Hat Tigers
Joel Edmundson, D — Moose Jaw Warriors/Kamloops Blazers

Tampa Bay Lightning (4):
Tyler Johnson, C/RW – Spokane Chiefs
Brayden Point, C – Moose Jaw Warriors
Braydon Coburn, D – Portland Winterhawks
Ben Thomas, D – Calgary Hitmen

Toronto Maple Leafs (4):
Tyler Ennis, LW/RW – Medicine Hat Tigers
Patrick Marleau, LW – Seattle Thunderbirds
Martin Marincin, D – Prince George Cougars/ Regina Pats
Morgan Rielly, D – Moose Jaw Warriors

Vancouver Canucks (6):
Sven Baertschi, LW/RW — Portland Winterhawks
Brandon Leipsic, C/LW — Portland Winterhawks
Brandon Sutter, C — Red Deer Rebels
Jake Virtanen, RW — Calgary Hitmen
Alexander Edler, D — Kelowna Rockets
Derrick Pouliot, D — Portland Winterhawks

Vegas Golden Knights (6):
*Cody Eakin, C – Swift Current Broncos
Ryan Reaves, RW – Brandon Wheat Kings
Deryk Engelland, D – Moose Jaw Warriors
Nick Holden, D – Chilliwack Bruins
Brayden McNabb, D – Kootenay ICE
Shea Theodore, D – Seattle Thunderbirds

Washington Capitals (4):
Brett Connolly, RW/LW – Prince George Cougars
Chandler Stephenson, C/LW – Regina Pats
Madison Bowey, D – Kelowna Rockets
Braden Holtby, G – Saskatoon Blades

Winnipeg Jets (7):
Adam Lowry, C — Swift Current Broncos
Nic Petan, C — Portland Winterhawks
Josh Morrissey, D — Prince Albert Raiders/Kelowna Rockets
Tyler Myers, D — Kelowna Rockets
Joe Morrow, D — Portland Winterhawks
Dustin Byfuglien, D — Brandon Wheat Kings/Prince George Cougars
Laurent Brossoit, G — Edmonton Oil Kings

*Denotes player on the injured reserved list