VICTORIA – The University of Victoria Vikes women’s rowing team is set for the Canadian University Rowing Championship, Nov. 3-4, hosted at Martindale Waterways in St. Catharines, Ont. Time trials will take place on the Saturday, with finals happening on Sunday.


The Vikes are entered in all six events with third-year Vike Sarah Craven competing in three – the lightweight single, lightweight double and lightweight coxed four. Craven returns to Martindale after winning Henley Gold in the Under 23 lightweight single and lightweight double earlier in the summer.

“Our goal for the weekend is to fight for every point in every race with the aim to capture a national banner for the first time since 2012,” said head coach Barney Williams, in his first season with the Vikes women’s program.

Seniors McKenna Simpson and Larissa McKinlay return to the National Championship as defending champions in the women’s eight and will be looking to cap of their careers with a CURC banner.

“The challenge is to apply the positive growth we have had in training to the championship race course,” added Williams. “Without question our biggest strength is the character of the 14 athletes and their willingness to fight for every inch.  This combined with a shared vision with our men’s Vikes team and tremendous support from the University give us reason for cautious optimism.”

The championship, hosted by Brock University, will happen on Nov. 3-4 with results being posted to


W Single
Layla Balooch

W LWT Single
Sarah Craven

W Lwt Double
Eden Hardcastle
Sarah Craven

W Pair
Piper Battersby
McKenna Simpson

W Lwt 4+
B Eden Hardcastle
2 Hayley Hubbs
3 Hannah Meeson
S Sarah Craven
C Lily Copeland

W 8+
B Piper Battersby
2 Gillian Cattet
3 Danae McCulloch
4 Lise McCracken
5 Layla Balooch
6 Larissa McKinlay
7 Kirsten Edwards
S McKenna Simpson
C Olivia Zachariah

(NOV. 3-4, 2018)

9:00am              W1x
9:30am              LM2x
10:00am            LW1x
10:30am            M2-
11:00am            W8+
11:30am            LM4+

12:30pm            M1x
1:00pm              LW2x
1:30pm              W2-
2:00pm              LM1x
2:30pm              LW4+
3:00pm              M8+

Times above listed in Eastern Time.