Vikes qualify in all events to set stage for National Championship finals


The University of Victoria Vikes men’s and women’s rowing teams have qualified for the A Finals in all 12 races after Day 1 of the Canadian University Rowing Championships hosted by Brock University in St. Catharines, Ont. Headlining the time trials were the women’s eight and pair – both boats finished first in time trials.


The Top 6 boats from time trials on Saturday qualify for the A Finals and medal rounds on Sunday at Martindale Waterways. Time trials set the stage for Sunday’s races b

To start the day fourth-year Vike Layla Balooch finished third in the women’s single in 7:52.100. Teammate Sarah Craven, in her first event of the day, finished third in the lightweight single in 7:53.570 behind Julia Lindsay of UBC (7:47.060) and Katherine Walker of Queen’s (7:50.280)

The women’s eight finished with the fastest time in 6:10.982 ahead of UBC (6:13.461) and Western (6:21.072). The eights were coxed by Olivia Zachariah and included McKenna Simpson, Kirsten Edwards, Larissa McKinlay, Balooch, Lise McCracken, Danae McCulloch, Gillian Cattet and Piper Battersby.

Craven and Eden Hardcastle qualified for the A Final in the lightweight double in a time of 7:19.470, ahead of Brock (7:34.728). Simpson and Battersby combined to race the women’s pair and finished first overall in 7:13.520 with UBC’s Paula Cameron and Claire Brillon (7:16.890).

The women’s lightweight coxed four of Craven, Hannah Meeson, Hayley Hubbs, Hardcastle and coxswain Lily Copeland finished second in 7:08.893 with a confident time heading in to the finals on Sunday.

On the men’s side all six boats also qualified for A Finals with brothers Sebastian and Chris Gulka finishing fifth in the lightweight double in 6:42.530. The men’s pair raced by Daan Arscott and Travis Gronsdahl finished third 6:41.5. UBC’s Clarke Schultz and Brendan Wall had the fastest time in 6:34.460.

In the men’s lightweight coxed four the Vikes finished third in 6:20.488 and were raced by Ellis Hollands, Idjen Cabral, Sebastian Gulka, Chris Gulka and coxswain Bailey Kulman. Vike Luc Brodeur was third in the men’s single in 6:58.841. Brodeur will be looking to improve on his 2017 fifth-place finish and time of 7:06.251.

The men’s lightweight single, won last year by Vike Patrick Keane, was raced this year by Ellis Hollands who qualified in the sixth spot in 7:15.369. Hollands edged out Brock’s Thomas Markewich (7:16.338) for the last spot in the A Final.

The men’s eight of Arscott, Gronsdahl, Alex Sawers, Tyler Adams, Brett Larson, Alec Stapff, Brodeur, Mathew Szymanowski and coxswain Skylar Presch finished third in 5:46.889. UBC looks to be the eights to beat as they finished first in 5:42.170.

DAY 1 RESULTS – Canadian University Rowing Championship

Women’s 1x
3rdLayla Balooch (7:52.100)*

Men’s Lwt 2x
5th – Sebastian Gulka, Chris Gulka (6:42.530)*

Women’s Lwt 1x
3rdSarah Craven (7:53.570)*

Men’s 2-
3rd – Daan Arscott, Travis Gronsdahl (6:41.5)*

Women’s 8+
1stMcKenna Simpson, Kirsten Edwards, Larissa McKinlay, Layla Balooch, Lise McCracken, Danae McCulloch, Gillian Cattet, Piper Battersby, coxswain Olivia Zachariah (6:10.982)

Men’s Ltwt 4+
3rd – Ellis Hollands, Idjen Cabral, Sebastian Gulka, Chris Gulka, coxswain Bailey Kulman (6:20.488)*

Men’s 1x
3rd – Luc Brodeur (6:58.841)*

Women’s Lwt 2x
5thSarah Craven, Eden Hardcastle (7:19.470)

Women’s 2-
1stMcKenna Simpson, Piper Battersby (7:13.520)

Men’s Lwt 1x
6th – Ellis Hollands (7:15.369)*

Women’s Lwt 4+
2ndSarah Craven, Hannah Meeson, Hayley Hubbs, Eden Hardcastle, coxswain Lily Copeland (7:08.893)

Men’s 8+
3rd – Daan Arscott, Travis Gronsdahl, Alex Sawers, Tyler Adams, Brett Larson, Alec Stapff, Luc Brodeur, Mathew Szymanowski, coxswain Skylar Presch (5:46.889)*

*Qualified for A Final

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!