Photo by Jason van Bruggen 2016

The Canadian freestyle ski team has unveiled the lineup of athletes who will compete in the aerials, moguls, halfpipe, slopestyle and Big Air events on the World Cup circuit this upcoming 2018-2019 season.

The season features four FIS freestyle World Cups in Canada: on January 12 in Calgary, Alberta and on January 26 in Tremblant, Quebec for the moguls skiers; the first-ever halfpipe World Cup in Calgary on February 14-16 and, closing the season, a Big Air and slopestyle contest in Quebec City on March 14-17, 2019.

Athletes of all four disciplines will ski in the FIS Freestyle World Championships, which take place February 1 to 10, 2019 at Deer Valley and Park City, Utah. The Big Air event is on the schedule for the first time in the history of the Worlds. Its inclusion comes on the heels of the IOC’s decision to include the event in the 2022 Olympic Games in Beijing, China.

Wind of renewal on the Canadian team
With the PyeongChang Olympics over and done with, the Canadian freestyle ski team is greeting some new faces. Several veterans have chosen to turn the page on their long careers on the slopes; the departure of Marc-Antoine Gagnon, Simon Pouliot-Cavanagh, Maxime Dufour-Lapointe, Alex-Anne Gagnon and Audrey Robichaud (moguls) as well as Mike Riddle, Rosalind Groenewoud and Keltie Hansen (Halfpipe) has opened up spots for such hopefuls as Sofiane Gagnon, Berkley Brown (moguls), and Rachael Karker (halfpipe). Young talents like Elena Gaskell (Big Air, Slopestyle) have highly earned their spot on the national team

Others, like Olivier Rochon, Travis Gerrits and Lewis Irving, are still sidelined while they recover fully from injuries or surgery. “It is not unusual to see changes on teams in a post-Olympic year,” commented Peter Judge, CEO at Freestyle Canada. “For some skiers, the Games are the ultimate goal before they move on to something else; for others, it’s time to rest before coming back completely healthy for the next Olympic cycle. We have a very solid core of athletes in all four disciplines. I’m thinking here of Mikaël Kingsbury, Justine Dufour-Lapointe, Cassie Sharpe and Alex Beaulieu-Marchand – who all made the podium in PyeongChang – but also those who push the boundaries of the sport, like Evan McEachran and Teal Harle. Our objective over the next few years will be to build around them and groom the next generation of young skiers to be our medal hopes at the Olympics in 2022 and 2026.”

Men: Travis Gerrits(Milton, ON), Olivier Rochon(Gatineau, QC), Lewis Irving(Quebec City, QC)

Women: Catrine Lavallée(Montréal, QC)

Development team
Men: Félix Boucher-Cormier (Saint-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, QC), Marc-Antoine Gagnon (Quebec City, QC), Tommy Doyle (Saint-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, QC)

Women: Naomy Boudreau-Guertin (Quebec City, QC), Marion Thenault (Sherbrooke, QC)

Coaching staff
Jeff Bean (head coach), Rémi Bélanger (development team coach)

Important dates

  • January 19, 2019 – First FIS World Cup of the season. Location: Lake Placid
  • February 1-10, 2019 – World Championships in Deer Valley, USA

Men: Mikaël Kingsbury(Deux-Montagnes, QC),Philippe Marquis(Quebec City, QC), Laurent Dumais(Quebec City, QC), Kerrian Chunlaud (Sainte-Foy, QC), Brenden Kelly (Pemberton, BC)

Women: Andi Naude(Penticton, BC),Chloé Dufour-Lapointe(Montréal, QC), Justine Dufour-Lapointe(Montréal, QC), Valérie Gilbert(Sainte-Adèle, QC)

Development team
Men: Simon Lemieux (Repentigny, QC), Robbie Andison (Oakville, ON), Gabriel Dufresne (Repentigny, QC), Jordan Kober (Penticton, BC), Elliot Vaillancourt (Drummondville, QC), Ryan Portello (Cochrane, AB)

Women:Sofiane Gagnon (Whistler, BC), Berkley Brown (Aurora, ON), Laurianne Desmarais-Gilbert (Sainte-Adèle, QC), Maia Schwinghammer (Saskatoon, SK)

Men: Noah Bowman (Calgary, AB), Simon d’Artois (Whistler, BC), Brendan MacKay (Calgary, AB)

Women: Cassie Sharpe (Comox, BC), Rachael Karker (Erin, ON)

Development team
Men: Evan Marineau (Calgary, AB), Sam McKeown (Calgary, AB), Dylan Marineau (Calgary, AB), Finnian Young (Calgary, AB), Sascha Pedenko (Calgary, AB)

Women: Rachael Anderson (Caledon, ON), Megan Warrener (Sylvan Lake, AB)

Men: Alex Beaulieu-Marchand(Quebec City, QC), Alex Bellemare(Saint-Boniface, QC), Evan McEachran(Oakville, ON), Teal Harle(Campbell River, BC)

Women:Dara Howell(Huntsville, ON), Yuki Tsubota(Whistler, BC), Elena Gaskell (Vernon, BC)

Development team
Men: Patrick Dew (Vernon, BC), Étienne Geoffroy-Gagnon (Whitehorse, Yukon), Mark Hendrickson (Calgary, AB), Max Moffat (Caledon, ON), Philippe Langevin (Mont-Tremblant, QC), Noah Morrison (Vernon, BC)

Women:Megan Oldham (Perry Sound, ON)