BC wins men’s gold at 2018 Travelers Curling Club Championships


British Columbia has won men’s gold at the Travelers Curling Club Championship for a second year in a row.

The Richmond Curling Club team of Vic Shimizu, Cody Tanaka, Trevor Bakken and Mark Yodogawa went undefeated throughout the tournament, winning all six round robin games and a semifinal matchup against Ontario before heading to the final.  They were the only team, men’s or women’s, to win all of their round robin games.

BC faced Nova Scotia’s team of Kurt Roach, Mark MacNamara, Travis Stone and Robin Nathanson in the final, securing their title with a convincing 8-3 win. BC led by a score of 6-1 after four ends, and while Nova Scotia scored two more points in the fifth, BC ensured the win with singles in the sixth and seventh ends.

“We’re so, so happy … to bring back the banner to the home club it means everything,” Tanaka, who was named the Most Valuable Player in the men’s tournament, told Curling Canada.

This is the second time that BC has won a gold medal at the Travelers Curling Club Championship, and the province is the first to win back-to-back men’s titles since Alberta’s three golds spanning from 2011 to 2013. Last year, Nanaimo Curling Centre’s team of Bart Sawyer, Steve Waatainen, Craig Burton and Keith Clarke won gold.

BC’s women’s team finished round robin play with a 3-3 record. The McArthur Island Curling Club team of Lori Olsen, Kelsey Martin, Lisa Robitaille and Andrea Bourassa just missed the playoffs, losing their tiebreaker game against Saskatchewan 5-3.

The 2018 Travelers Curling Club Championship took place from November 19 to 24 at Miramichi Curling Club in New Brunswick, and featured the best men’s and women’s club teams from across the country.