Team BC, Skip: Karla Thompson Third: Kristen Recksiedler Second: Tracey Lavery Lead: Trysta Vandale in a big win at the 2016 Scotties Tournament of Hearts, the Canadian Womens Curling Championships, Grande Praire, Alberta

The final two women’s teams that will be competing at the 2019 Scotties BC Women’s Curling Championship, presented by Best Western, were determined at Kamloops Curling Club over the weekend of January 4 to 6.

Kelowna, Victoria and Prince George’s Team Richards (Brette Richards, Blaine de Jager, Steph Jackson Baier, Heather Tyre) won the open #2 playdown’s A event after a 7-6 win over 2019 BC Junior Women’s champion Team Daniels and an 11-4 win over Team Thompson.

Kamloops’ Team Thompson (Karla Thompson, Holly Donaldson, Megan Daniels, Cassie Savage) won the B event with a 7-6 win over Team Daniels.

Both Team Richards and Team Thompson have players who have won previous BC Women’s Championships. Jackson Baier won in 2014 with Team Van Osch, Thompson skipped a team to a win in 2016, and Richards and de Jager won with Team Mallett in 2017.

The complete list of teams that have qualified for the 2019 Scotties BC Women’s Curling Championship, presented by Best Western, is as follows:

  • Team Van Osch (Defending champion)
  • Team Brown (CTRS)
  • Team Wark (BC Curling Tour)
  • Team Gushulak (BC Curling Tour)
  • Team Slattery (Open #1 playdown)
  • Team Hudyma (Open #1 playdown)
  • Team Richards (Open #2 playdown)
  • Team Thompson (Open #2 playdown)

The final men’s berth will be determined at the men’s open playdown at Lillooet Curling Club from January 11 to 13.

The 2019 BC Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships will be taking place January 29 to February 3 in Quesnel.