Men’s Sydney Sevens Series Updates

Updates on Canada's Men's Sevens team at the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in Sydney, AUS.

38

Canada vs. Kenya

Canada win their first match of the Sydney Series, 24-14 over Kenya.

In just his second sevens tournament for Canada’s national team, Cole Davis starts the match off with two tries. After a Kenyan score, Connor Braid powered past the line to put them up 17-7 at the break.

A lot f back and forth in the second half with Kenya racking up the penalties but Canada not able to capitalize on any of them. Finally it was Phil Berna who subbed into the game and scored the final try of the match. Nathan Hirayama’s two conversions gave Canada the victory 24-14.

Watch every match LIVE on CBC Sports

Canada Roster:
Phil Berna – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)
Connor Braid – James Bay AA (Victoria, BC)
Cole Davis – Calgary Saints (Calgary, AB)
Justin Douglas – Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford, BC)
Mike Fuailefau – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Nathan Hirayama – Captain,Unattached (Richmond, BC)
Isaac Kaay – UVIC Vikes (Kamloops, BC)
Pat Kay – Castaway Wanderers (Duncan, BC)
Luke McCloskey – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Josiah Morra – Toronto Saracens (Toronto, ON)
Matt Mullins – James Bay AA (Belleville, ON)
Jake Thiel – Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford, BC)
Brock Webster – Oshawa Vikings (Oshawa, ON)
Adam Zaruba – Capilano RFC (North Vancouver, BC)

Canada’s Sydney Day one schedule:
Friday, Feb 1, 2019

Canada 24 – 14 Kenya

Canada vs. France- 11:12pm ET/ 8:12pm PT

Saturday, Feb 2, 2019

Canada vs. USA- 3:39am ET/ 12:39am PT

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!