Team BC Rosters Announced for the 2019 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships!

The Indigenous Sport, Physical Activity & Recreation Council (I∙SPARC), and its Provincial Hockey Committee, are pleased to announce the players and volunteer staff who will represent British Columbia in the 2019 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships (NAHC). The 2019 NAHC will be held in Whitehorse, Yukon from May 7 to May 12, 2019.

I·SPARC hosted its Team BC Player Selection Camp from April 5-7, 2019 at the Matsqui Recreation Centre in Abbotsford, BC where 94 elite Indigenous male and female hockey players participated in the three-day process. From the camp, twenty male and twenty female hockey players were selected. These players will not only represent BC, but they will also proudly represent their Nations and communities at this prestigious national championship.

“Congratulations to all of the Team BC members selected to participate in the National Aboriginal Hockey Championships in Whitehorse,” said Lisa Beare, Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture. “You have travelled a long way to compete at the national level and you exemplify the amazing talent and spirit we have in B.C. I wish you the very best as you prepare for competition and I hope you truly enjoy your experience at the Games next month.”

“Our three-day selection camp showcased an amazing level of talent from across the province,” said Rick Brant, Executive Director at I·SPARC. “Team BC will be defending last year’s male gold medal performance and building on an impressive 4th place finish by the female team. We are very pleased with our rosters and the strengths of our two teams as we prepare for the 2019 NAHC in Whitehorse.”


# Last Name First Name YOB Pos Ancestry/Nation City/Town 2018/19 Hockey Club
23 Adams Mackenzie 2002 D Katzie First Nation Pitt Meadows Ridge Meadows Midget AA
14 Blace Braden 2003 F Squamish Nation Crofton Pacific Coast Hockey Academy
1 Black Dylan 2002 G Métis Langley Aldergrove Kodiaks, Jr B
12 Brant Ty 2001 D Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte Victoria Delta Hockey Academy
11 Brant Ben 2003 F Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte Victoria Pacific Coast Hockey Academy
5 Cameron Colton 2002 D Métis Surrey Valley West Giants, MML
15 Chidgey Tyson 2002 F Little Salmon of Carmacks Roberts Creek Sunshine Coast Blues
16 Cousins Kolton 2001 F Métis Sechelt Cowichan Valley Capitals, Jr A
17 Cunningham Corey 2001 F Métis Prince George Prince George Spruce Kings, Jr A
21 Edgar David 2002 F Ditidaht First Nation Victoria Peninsula Panthers, Jr B
6 Erichuk Alek 2001 D Métis Knutsford Nelson Leafs, Jr B
20 Lampreau Tyson 2001 F Simpcw Chase Chase Heat, Jr B
7 Livingston Hunter 2001 D Métis Ladysmith Notre Dame Hounds, Midget AAA
8 McLellan Carter 2002 F Two Rivers/Thompson Okanagan Kamloops Thompson Blazers Midget
19 Mould Brody 2002 F Fort Nelson First Nation Fort Nelson Fort Nelson Grizzlies
9 Porter David 2002 F Alberni Clayquot Métis Port Alberni Pacific Coast Hockey Academy
22 Roloson Ross 2003 D Mississagua Victoria NAX Hockey Academy
10 Shearon Lleyton 2003 F Cowichan Tribes Langley Pacific Coast Hockey Academy
13 Toye Branden 2003 F Stz’uminus First Nation Kamloops Thompson Blazers Minor Midget
30 Trotter Aaron 2001 G Métis Victoria Shawnigan Lake School Varsity/Prep
A/P Vinnie Ashton 2001 G Ts’kw’aylaxw First Nation Kamloops Kamloops Midget
A/P Sanford Ty 2002 F Beausoleil First Nation Salmon Arm Okanagan Hockey Academy Midget Prep
A/P Fodchuk Jaden 2003 F Sechelt First Nation Sechelt Sunshine Coast Blues
A/P Desharnais Slade 2001 F Nak’azdli Whuten Fort St. James Kootenay Ice, MML

Male Team Staff
Head Coach:                    Dwayne Roloson (Victoria)
Assistant Coach:              Shane Gottfriedson (Tk’emlúps te Secwepemc, Kamloops)
Assistant Coach:              Robert Vermette (Métis, Abbotsford)
Manager:                         Tana Mussell (Skwah First Nation, Chilliwack)
Trainer:                            Tyne Campbell (Métis, Surrey)

# Last Name First Name YOB Pos Ancestry/Nation City/Town 2018/19 Hockey Club
11 Beauregard Paige 2001 F Métis Campbell River OHA Female Prep AAA
10 Colebank Cricket 2004 F Métis Hixon Bantam Rep
27 Grooms Kamryn 2003 D Mid-Island Métis Ladysmith Shawnigan Lake School
19 Leas Zoe 2003 F Tr’ondek Hwëch’in Bowen Island Okanagan Hockey Academy Prep
3 Livingston Jada 2002 D Métis Ladysmith Notre Dame Hounds AAA
14 Mackay Lauren 2003 D Secwepemc Nation Richmond Delta Hockey Academy Varsity
12 Moore Nancy 2004 F Haida, Masset Village Prince George Prince George Female Cougars Rep
18 Moss Kya 2004 D Qalipu Mi’kmaq Port Moody Tricity Predators
1 Munro Kayla 2002 G Métis North Vancouver Fraser Valley Rush AAA
4 Ridgewell Jade 2002 D Coast Salish Delta Pacific Steelers, Jr Women’s
9 Sadler Janelle 2004 F Shíshálh Nation Kamloops Kamloops Female Bantam A
15 Saharchuk Cailen 2001 F Métis Fort St. James Vanderhoof Bears
8 Sampson Sarah 2001 D Nak’azdli Whut’en Fort St. James Prince George Northern Capitals AAA
22 Scully Camryn 2001 F Métis Prince George Prince George Northern Capitals AAA
21 Stanwood Charlotte 2001 F Métis West Vancouver Okanagan Hockey Academy Prep
30 Sturgeon Tessa 2003 G Métis Prince George Prince George Northern Capitals AAA
6 Teschuk Tashyla 2003 F Takla Lake First Nation Prince George Prince George
16 Walkus Tianna 2001 F Kwakiutl Port Hardy VI Seals and Belmont Hockey Academy
17 Wiley Samantha 2004 D Haida, Masset Village Prince Rupert Prince Rupert Seawolves
A/P Baliski Megan 2003 G Gamblers First Nation Kelowna OHA Female Varsity
A/P Arcand-Squakin Meadow 2003 D Okanagan Penticton Penticton Vees AAA
A/P Isaac Mary 2003 D Lil’wat Lillooet Lillooet Pistons