Montréal, Ottawa and Vancouver join 2019 Canadian Championship Qualifying Round 3

1064

Major League Soccer clubs Montréal Impact FC and Vancouver Whitecaps FC and the USL’s Ottawa Fury FC will join Canadian Premier League clubs York9 FC, Cavalry FC and HFX Wanderers FC for Qualifying Round 3 (QR3) of the expanded 13-team, 24-match 2019 Canadian Championship kicking off 10 July LIVE on OneSoccer.ca.

Ottawa Fury FC travel to Halifax, NS to play HFX Wanderers FC at 19.00 local (18:00 ET / 15:00 PT), Montréal Impact FC travel to North York, ON to play York9 FC at 19:30 ET / 16:30 PT, and Vancouver Whitecaps FC head to Calgary, AB to face Cavalry FC at 19:30 local (21:30 ET / 18:30 PT) for the opening leg. The return leg for QR3 is scheduled for 24 July in Ottawa, ON and Montréal, QC at 19:30 ET and Vancouver, BC at 22:30 ET.

The HFX Wanderers FC advanced to QR3 by defeating Winnipeg’s Valour FC 4:1 on aggregate in Qualifying Round 2 (QR2) after defeating Vaughan Azzurri of League 1 Ontario 3:3 on the away goal rule in Qualifying Round 1 (QR1).

York9 FC advanced to QR3 with a 3:2 aggregate defeat of FC Edmonton and their 1:0 aggregate QR1 victory over AS Blainville of Première Ligue de Soccer du Québec.

Cavalry FC, who recently secured the 2019 Canadian Premier League Spring Season crown, defeated Hamilton’s Forge FC 3:2 on aggregate after their 4:1 aggregate QR1 victory over Pacific FC of Victoria.

The winner of the HFX  Wanderers FC v Ottawa Fury FC matchup will advance to face 2018 Canadian Championship winners Toronto FC for the 2019 Canadian Championship Semi-final. The other Semi-final matchup will be played between the winners of the York9 FC v Montréal Impact FC and Cavalry FC v Vancouver Whitecaps FC series.

The 2019 Canadian Championship Final is scheduled for 18 and 25 September.