Women’s eight boat qualifies for Tokyo

    2019 World Rowing Championships

    2019 World Rowing Championships

    Canada wrapped up the World Rowing Championships today with a big boat qualified for Tokyo 2020 and top 6 in three Olympic events.

    The women’s eight secured a berth for Tokyo 2020 with a 4th place finish (6:03.04) in the hotly contested battle against New Zealand, Australia and the United States. Top five boats secured their spot for Tokyo with Great Britain earning the fifth spot.

    The Canadian women’s eight crew includes Lisa Roman (Langley, BC), Nicole Hare (Calgary, AB), Christine Roper (Ottawa, ON), Susanne Grainger (London, ON), Hillary Janssens (Cloverdale, BC) and Caileigh Filmer (Victoria, BC), Avalon Wasteneys (Campbell River, BC), Kasia Gruchalla-Wesierski (Calgary, AB), and coxswain Kristen Kit (St. Catharines, ON).

    The women’s double A Final featured Canada’s Andrea Proske (Langley, BC) and Gabrielle Smith (Unionville, ON) finishing 0.63 seconds behind the Netherlands in 4th place. New Zealand and Romania finished 1st and 2nd respectively, with all crews previously qualifying their boats for Tokyo.

    “The result was really tight. We executed our plan well so you can’t be disappointed in that,” said Smith. It is obviously frustrating to be that close but Olympic qualification was definitely a highlight this week. It’s going to fuel a pretty good winter of training.”

    Rio Olympian Carling Zeeman (Cambridge, ON) raced against the world’s top, finishing 6th place (7:29.70), and proudly securing a berth for Canada in the A/B semi-finals in the women’s single.

    “It’s a stepping stone,” explains Zeeman. “The Olympics are obviously the goal. I’m sixth in the world – not exactly where I want to be, but it gets me to the next step. I feel pride in that accomplishment.”

    The men’s eight raced their B Final this morning, crossing the line in 2nd (5:42.09) ahead of Italy and Russia. The crew of Will Crothers (Kingston, ON), Mackenzie Copp (London, ON), Taylor Perry (Ancaster, ON), Gavin Stone (Brampton, ON), Benjamin De Wit (Port Alice, BC), Martin Barakso (Nanaimo, BC), Cody Bailey (St. Mary’s, ON) Jakub Buczek (Burnaby, BC) and coxswain Lesley Thompson-Willie (London, ON) finished 8th overall at this event.

    Matt Buie (Duntroon, ON) and Trevor Jones (Lakefield, ON) contested the C Final in the Men’s Double finishing 2nd (6:23.64) in the C Final and 14th overall.

    Loren Pearson (Kamloops, BC) finished 6th in the PR1 Men’s Single finishing 18th overall in his first international regatta.

    Canada takes home a total of three 2019 World Rowing Championship medals and six boats confirmed for Tokyo 2020. Subject to 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Selection Camp invitations, Canada may consider seeking additional qualification spots, in May 2020, during the final Olympic Qualification Regatta in Lucerne, Switzerland and the Final Paralympic Qualification Regatta in Gavirate, Italy.

    Canadian Crews – World Rowing Championships

    PR2 Men’s Single
    Jeremy Hall Edmonton Rowing Club
    PR2 Mixed Double
    Jeremy Hall Edmonton Rowing Club
    Jessye Brockway Gorge Rowing Club
    PR3 Men’s Pair
    Andrew Todd North Star Rowing Club
    Kyle Fredrickson University of Victoria Rowing Club
    PR1 Men’s Single
    Loren Pearson Victoria City Rowing Club
    Women’s Eight
    Lisa Roman Middlesex-Western Rowing Club
    Susanne Grainger London Rowing Club
    Nicole Hare Calgary Rowing Club
    Avalon Wasteneys University of Victoria Rowing Club
    Kasia Gruchalla-Wesierski Calgary Rowing Club
    Hillary Janssens University of British Columbia Rowing Club
    Christine Roper Ottawa Rowing Club
    Caileigh Filmer University of Victoria Rowing Club
    Kristen Kit (coxswain) University of British Columbia Rowing Club/St. Catharines Rowing Club
    Women’s Pair
    Hillary Janssens University of British Columbia Rowing Club
    Caileigh Filmer University of Victoria Rowing Club
    Women’s Four
    Madison Mailey Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
    Jennifer Martins Western University Rowing Club
    Stephanie Grauer Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
    Sydney Payne Brentwood College Rowing Club
    Women’s Double
    Andrea Proske Victoria City Rowing Club
    Gabrielle Smith Knowlton Rowing Club
    Lightweight Women’s Double
    Jill Moffatt Western University Rowing Club
    Jennifer Casson Kingston Rowing Club
    Lightweight Women’s Single
    Ellen Gleadow Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
    Women’s Single
    Carling Zeeman Sudbury Rowing Club
    Kristin Bauder Middlesex-Western Rowing Club
    Morgan Rosts Ridley Graduate Boat Club
    Rebecca Zimmerman University of Victoria Rowing Club
    Laura Court St. Catharines Rowing Club
    Men’s Pair
    Conlin McCabe Brockville Rowing Club
    Kai Langerfeld University of Victoria Rowing Club
    Men’s Eight
    Benjamin de Wit University of British Columbia Rowing Club
    Cody Bailey MicMac Aquatic Center
    Gavin Stone Queen’s University Rowing Club
    Jakub Buczek Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
    Mackenzie Copp Western University Rowing Club
    Martin Barakso Brentwood College Rowing Club
    Taylor Perry Leander Boat Club
    Will Crothers Kingston Rowing Club
    Lesley Thompson-Willie (coxswain) London Rowing Club
    Men’s Double
    Matthew Buie St. Catharines Rowing Club
    Trevor Jones Peterborough Rowing Club
    Lightweight Men’s Double
    Maxwell Lattimer University of British Columbia Rowing Club
    Patrick Keane Victoria City Rowing Club
    Lightweight Men’s Single
    Aaron Lattimer University of British Columbia Rowing Club
    David De Groot Brock University Rowing Club
    Tim Schrijver Brock University Rowing Club