Debbie McKinney Terry Foord

Teams will be descending on Hope Curling Club this week to crown the best Mixed Doubles duo in BC.


The 2020 BC Mixed Doubles Curling Championship kicks off tomorrow (Feb. 26) and wraps up on Sunday, Mar. 1, 2020.


The fast-paced version of the game features one male and one female curler and the game is played over eight ends (instead of the usual 10). Mixed Doubles curling debuted at the Pyeongchang Olympics and is due to be in Beijing in 2022.


The BC championship in Hope is a 16-team competition featuring two pools of eight teams.


In this format each team has only six stones and one of those stones from each team is prepositioned on the centre line before every end of play. One player delivers the first and last stones of the end while the other player throws the second, third and fourth stones. If they choose to, the two players may swap positions from one end to the next. Both team members are also allowed to sweep.


The winner of this event will go on to represent BC at the national mixed doubles competition.


BC curlers Tyler Tardi and Dezaray Hawes have already qualified for nationals through the Curling Canada NextGen Mixed Doubles event that took place at the Canada Cup in Leduc, Alberta, during the last week of November.


The Canada Inns Canadian Mixed Doubles Curling Championship will take place in Portage La Prairie, Manitoba from Mar. 17-22, 2020.

Full rosters of teams:


Team Jensen/Deane – Tunnel Town

Shawna Jensen

Connor Deane


Team DenToom/Merchant – Vancouver Curling Club

Allison DenToom

David Marchant


Team Prinse/Gamache – Chilliwack/GEWC

Stephanie Prinse

Rhys Gamache


Team Ward/ Gallaugher – Royal City

Shannon Ward

Robbie Gallaugher


Team Woo/Wenzek – Royal City

Courtney Woo

Daniel Wenzek


Team Pohlod/Prade – Delta Thistle

Layna Pohlod

Patrick Prade

Coach: Gregory Pohlod


Team Geiger – Abbotsford

Debbie Geiger

Dean Geiger


Team Little/Small – Nelson

Kristina Little

Nathan Small


Team Everest/Cseke – Kelowna

Elise Everest

Adam Cseke


Team Sandwith/de Jong – Victoria

Carley Sandwith

Cameron de Jong


Team Jackson-Baier/Chester – Victoria

Steph Jackson Baier

Corey Chester


Team Cowan/Wilson – Victoria/Tunnel Town/Delta

Troy Cowan

Kayla Wilson


Team King Simpson/Croteau – Victoria/Campbell River

Karly King Simpson

Connar Croteau


Team Czirfusz/Cheung – Prince George

Eryn Czirfusz

Mattias Cheung

Coach: Doug Dalziel


Team McKinney/Foord – Hope

Debbie McKinney

Terry Foord


Team Wilson/ Silversides – Victoria

Sasha Wilson

Duncan Silversides